Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 4, 2011 April 6, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:48 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Falling – one more time! Yesterday I completed a second painting exploring the feeling of falling and uncertainty. We all have difficult periods in our lives. We feel like everything is spinning out of control, that we live surrounded by choas. You all have heard me comment about my husband’s health problems but I have had two other events over which I have no control. First – my grandson is in the Army and was home on leave for the last week. Today he goes back to Afghanistan. With tensions escalating again that is very scary for a grandmother and is, of course, even worse for my daughter. He has two more months in Afghanistan before he is reassigned to Germany. I feel like these last months are the most dangerous. Secondly, my sister had knee replacement surgery yesterday. I have had double knee replacement and know how painful this surgery is and long it takes to fully recover. The surgery went well and now she can begin the climb to recovery.  Anyway this is a very trying period but I know that we all go through them.

Falling 2

Now back to the painting. For this painting I decided to use colors that are dramatic and even a little harsh. Colors that almost shout at you. I simplified the flowing lines to increase the focus on the color. This painting and yesterday’s were both done on a quarter sheet of Langston’s Prestige paper. I have never used this before and I really like the creamy feel and the fact that it doesn’t “hold” buckles and ripples as badly as Arches. This time I KNOW which side is up (thank you to all who offered opinions yesterday!).

 

12 Responses to “April 4, 2011”

  1. Harriett Says:

    When I look at this painting I see a woman kneeling ….but with her head held high. It is as if she is bowing to fate but with a feeling of meeting it on her own terms.

    • I love the freedon to have a personal relationship with art. When someone sees or feels something different from my vision it is very exciting for me. Thank you for sharing! After I read everyone’s comments I always go back and take a second look at my paintings.

  2. First of all let me thank your son-in-law for the freedom fighting and his service to our Country and to those people across the oceans. I have several family members in the military and I have nothing but respect for their bravery. I’ll say a prayer for him, other military members and your family.
    The painting is perfect, I feel as though it’s a nerve, and that nerve is being tested by aggravation, fear, and the unknown.

  3. judy Says:

    Scrolling down, my response to the revealed painting was “Wow! Powerful!” I second Smalltowndad’s sentiments regarding our brave soldiers, especially your grandson, Linda.

  4. Powerful. Something strong in the midst of chaos. I experience my painting as my healing agent. The process, I believe, takes us to another state of consciousness where our entire make up can renew.

    • I am reading The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle and anyone who has lost themselves in the creation process while painting can understand this book. For me, painting gives a sense of rest, invigoration and renewal.

  5. Carol King Says:

    What an exciting painting. I see energy and power.

    My prayers are with your grandson. Good luck to your sister with her recovery. And of course to your husband.


Leave a Reply

