Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 31, 2011 April 1, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Collage,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:56 am
Tags: , , , , ,

OK, I am really bad about leaving a painting alone. I can’t stop fiddling. I made more changes to my last painting and I think it “feels” more comfortable to me. I didn’t like the linear feel of some of the lines – too spidery and sharp – so I rounded them out and made more interesting curves and shapes in the lines. I’m not going to post the update right now because I just finished a new collage I want to share.

Collage 5 (Machine)

This collage was inspired by the blood separation machine used to harvest Ken’s stem cells. It is what they describe as their workhorse and has been chugging along steadily helping patients for years and years. I wanted to show some of the geometric shapes but with an organic feel and a warm color scheme. I used a technique taught by Peggy Brown – she is a master at this approach. You soak your paper, use torn or cut shapes of paper that you’ve soaked and work in layers applying color liberally and wettly (is that a word?). You let the whole stack dry and then see what you have to work with. I then collaged many shapes from the pieces used in the stack up. I used a hole punch to punch out shapes that I could use to look like rivets or screws. Then I did some final touch up with my watercolors. I love working with sepia and payne’s gray so I used these two colors plus vermillion, cad red, yellow ochre and Winsor green. This was loads of fun to make. I hope you enjoy seeing it as much as I did making it.

 

10 Responses to “March 31, 2011”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    You must have captured the essence of the machine because it makes me sense many I have seen in the past, Linda. I like the color choices in this as well as all the interesting shapes. I could stareat this over and over again and not get bored. I think that is a sign of a good painting. 🙂

    • I appreciate your comments Leslie. I chose the colors because I have not been using them and I really like the way they harmonize in this painting. I wanted to give a sense of benefit as well as just machine

  2. Chris Carter Says:

    These difficult times are truly bringing your strengths to the surface! I can’t wait to see more!

  3. Love it. Very interesting…….pleasing.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Gretchen. Whether I’m working on a collage, a painting or a drawing I loose myself in the process. I guess that’s what they call the power of NOW.

  4. gregorbucik Says:

    wow linda, love the things you’ve been doing lately! 🙂 good job!

  5. Carol King Says:

    Great color. I like the images very much. I get the distinct feeling of a machine with blood going through it.


Leave a Reply

