Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 28, 2011 March 29, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:33 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

It took a few days of thinking and painting and thinking and painting but I think I am finished.

Blood Flow 2

This painting was done on a half sheet of watercolor board and is once again based on the idea of blood and blood vessels…as carriers, as givers, as destroyers of bad cells. I wanted to give this painting a more positive look so I used the pastel, spring colors that I like so much.

Ken spent 4 hours sitting in one position yesterday. He had a needle in each arm and they were harvesting stem cells from his blood to make a “Ken” vaccine to stimulate his immune system. Sooo I still have blood on the brain.

Just a fun note: On Saturday I got to meet my newest GREAT Granddaughter. Her name is Layla and her big sister is Hayden. Here is a photo of our four generations – me, my oldest daughter, her oldest son and his wife and their two little girls. We are all so proud!

Four Generations

 

 

21 Responses to “March 28, 2011”

  1. Harriett Says:

    Lovely family, Linda!

  2. artimagica Says:

    What a wonderful photo – except you don’t look old enough to be a great grandma!! Your piece is very powerful and beautiful at the same time. It’s clear that your emotions have “flowed” through your hands to make this striking piece. Well done!

  3. What a beautiful family! I hope all is well with everyones health, I have been missing in action for the last month or so but I have been trying to visit most of my blog buds. Good health to all and again what a beautiful family!

  4. Love this piece. Sending healing thoughts to you and your lovely family.

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    Color! Glorious color! I think you nailed it! Love the gray area to the left, washing thru the blue. Uncertainty? So much of it right now for you. Sending good thoughts your way, Linda.
    Lovely family!

  6. Rachel Says:

    This is a beautiful piece, Linda. Sending along positive thoughts for you and your dh. Sounds like a very stressful time.

  7. Artswebshow Says:

    Wow, that is an excellent piece of artwork.
    So much energy in it.
    Nicely titled too

  8. ruthsartwork Says:

    Lovely family Linda. So may things for you to deal with. Your art is always so personal and inspiring.

  9. Carol King Says:

    What a beautiful family!

    I like this piece too. I know sometimes when people are sick, they are told to envision their blood or their white blood cells fighting off the illness. You have managed to put this visualization on paper with great success.

    • I am getting lots of ideas from blood, blood vessels, blood flow, white cells…you get the idea. The technician that runs the machine that harvests Ken’s stem cells calls herself Vampira and has a smiley face with fangs stuck to her cardkey. I love it when we are given a chance to laugh!

  10. Very thought provoking image Linda. I hope Ken is okay and that you are both coping with the changes in your life. Your lovely family photo lifted a smile. They’re beautiful, you must be very proud.

  11. Zeinab-Art Says:

    Hi dear Linda! you were the first one that leave a comment for me, thank you. you have a lovely familly. Also, your abstract Paintings are beautiful. It is good that you can express your feeling by words and painting.


Leave a Reply

