Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 25, 2011 March 26, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 9:04 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leslie inspired me when she commented on my post of yesterday. She mentioned blood vessels making a chain link fence (I loved this analogy!) and I was focused on blood (to any new readers this must sound grusome!) Anyway I started working on a second painting and this one is much different from yesterday’s post. Yesterday my painting was 8″ X 10″, very orderly and was primarily acrylic. Today’s painting is a half sheet (15″ X  24″), is chaotic  and is watercolor and ink. I think today’s painting more closely captures some of the emotion I feel. The darkness at the center of this painting is indicative of a malignant growth. It also comments on the dark place I’ve talked about. All cancer patients and their friends and family fight the darkness of depression. I’ve tried to show the veins that will bring a new treatment to my husband. .. that will enhance and strengthen his immune system with a vaccine made from his own blood. Closer to what I want to say …

Blood Flow 1

This is very new technology and we are optimistic.

 

 

16 Responses to “March 25, 2011”

  1. Chris Carter Says:

    I encourage you to keep going with this direction as I’m sure you will. This painting is strong both visually and emotionally. You express an emotion and a passage through challenges of life that are shared by many and you do it through the beauty of line, shapes and colors. Thank you.

  2. Stacia Says:

    I think the beautiful optimism really shows here, despite the dark you said you put in to represent depression. I like the balance of colors in it. The previous “fence” piece seems more a representation of frustration and blockage from the goal.

  3. jwms1 Says:

    Very dynamic. Very nice!

  4. Harriett Says:

    I see it…..I feel it…..I get it! Bravo, Linda. Your painting is beautiful, therapuetic, and speaks volumes.

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    OMG! This has been fantastic to watch you do! Thank you for sharing your journey! I can “see” the “dark place” in this one, Linda!
    To me, those black lines running from the “dark place” seem to almost symbolize a fractured reality reaching out trying to take over. The yellow, blue and red all seem to be self and energy and truth rushing in to squeeze the dark place from existence and I love it that the blood vessels are stark white, almost as if a “light” was being delivered. That burst of light in the upper left quadrant. Mmmmm nice touch! I would stop and take this in if I viewed it in a show. Why? Because I see other stories in this also.

    • Leslie, you see so much and look so deep! You amaze me. I see the black lines as filiments of evil reaching out to try to gain ground while the white, the good, the healthy bring good into the body. Your interpretation of a fractured reality is so appropriate. In my support group we talk about the “new” normal we all have to live with. That the old “normal” is gone.

  6. I believe we have a lot of power with the energy we put out into the world. This piece and act is a great way to send some healing energy into your world and your husband’s. I wish for the best for you & him and healing thoughts.

  7. jenpedwards Says:

    Oh my, Linda. I’ll be praying for you and your husband as you go through this dark valley. Please keep painting through it…for your benefit as well as ours. All the best to you!

  8. Carol King Says:

    I like this painting very much. Your strength and emotion are very strong in this. Good luck to your husband. My thoughts will be with him.


Leave a Reply

