Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 24, 2011 March 25, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Acrylics,Daily Post,Uncategorized,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:45 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Ken will start a new treatment program next week and, while he has been having lots of blood drawn over the last few months, that will increase significantly as he goes through the next several weeks. I have been thinking about blood, blood flowing out of his body and blood flowing back into his body. I painted this as I played with these thoughts.

Blood Flow Out, Blood Flow In

The painting has collaged strips from the product information sheet. Maybe it is my focus on geometry and maintaining an optimistic attitude but the painting doesn’t communicate emotion to me. I started in watercolor and finished in acrylic paint. I am not sure if I will keep this or try to recover the surface and do something else. Either way, I’m glad I did this painting. It is putting me more in touch with my feeling.

 

 

10 Responses to “March 24, 2011”

  1. I know this is a very difficult time for you. I am glad that you are painting your way through. I always find healing in my art. Perhaps that is the way for all artists. My thought are with you and your husband. Shanti.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Oh, I often think of my art as therapy even if the image does not represent what I am struggling with. I can see this piece as titled “denial”. The idea of the bloodvessels forming a formidable chain link fence to not allow the “homerun” of the drugs to get through. Make sense?… a series of geometric pieces describing the blood vessels begin to accept, perhaps creating spirals or circles surrounding the product and inevitably incasing them in some three dimensional shapes and embracing their “life giving” properties? Just a thought, as I see a picture speaking a million words…. Let the healing begin! Love to both of you!

    • Leslie, your comments are always so intuitive and insightful. I am always so impressed with what others see in my art. We all have such different interpretations and personal styles, likes and dislikes. Thank you for your thoughts. Can’t wait to get to my paints!

  3. Carol King Says:

    I like it. I have to take my blood every day to check blood sugar. I’ve also had some other issues with blood so I find this quite interesting. Your blood must be strong to keep you strong. I like Leslie’s comment about a chain link fence.

    Keep doing more.

    • Carol, I worked for Roche Diagnostics until I retired. I led the Project management group in the R&D area that developes blood glucose testing systems. I know what you go through eveyday. I have always admired the way people with a chromic disease are able to live life to the fullest. More power to you!

  4. Stacia Says:

    It makes sense to me that that work might not show the emotion — for don’t you have to be stoic much more often than you’d like, just to get through the day? I love the piece – very original. I share Leslie’s interpretation of it being a fence. I like the shocking colors – almost as if it’s relaying the intensity of the situation you are in.

    • Stacia, I have not “painted over” this piece. I still like the concept and have been living with it to see if I can find a way to add excitement. I have a thought that I’m considering. You may see more.

  5. Stephen Says:

    Hey Linda – this is a riveting image. It is full of care and distress. Thank you for sharing something of your journey here – Blessings for you both – Stephen


Leave a Reply

