Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 20, 2011 March 20, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Portraits & Self Portraits,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 2:58 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The photographs coming out of Japan are really heart breaking. The people of Japan are enduring extraordinary tragedy with dignity, intelligence and resilience. I admire what I see. I tried to capture the essence of some of the riveting faces I’ve seen in magazines. I have been sketching using my aquabrushes and wet media sketchbook. Here is the first sketch I’ve completed. I was fascinated by the humanity of the woman clutching the rag to her face. I wasn’t sure if she was crying into the cloth or clutching something that had meaning for her.  The photo was on the cover of Time magazine this week.  I have made minor changes for my sketch.

People of Japan 1

 

14 Responses to “March 20, 2011”

  1. Chris Carter Says:

    A powerful and expression painting!

  2. Carol King Says:

    Lovely and powerful. I can feel her pain.

  3. I have been seeing slot of the flag being used. I really like that you went a different route. I think I might do one.

  4. artimagica Says:

    This is beautiful Linda. You have captured the depth of the woman’s emotion so well. The question of the cloth immediately popped to my mind as well.

  5. Very expressive. I can’t say anymore than what everyone else has said. Beautiful and sad.

  6. artistwife Says:

    Linda, you’ve really captured the feeling of loss. I can feel it.

  7. I love your painting and what you’ve caught in the image, but without wishing to sound shallow, I love the rendering on the subject’s hair. Well done Linda, beautiful work.


Leave a Reply

