Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 17, 2011 March 18, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:52 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Ken and I volunteered at the Information Desk at the museum yesterday. That will be his last time until his treatment is finished at the end of April. I have one more activity next week. While we were there I worked on two ATC’s. I really love making these little paintings and I’ve only created one this year. I decided to do a second poinsettia. I send my family ATC’s with their Christmas cards and they are collecting my little originals.  The first poinsettia I did had a very dark background. This time I used a white background. Both work well.

Poinsettia 2 - ATC

The second ATC was inspired by a new grandson story. As I mentioned recently my grandson has Asperger’s Syndrome. Asperger’s is a high functioning form of autism. Someone witrh Asperger’s is usually very literate with a good vocabulary. They are also very literal. A few days ago Ian told his mom he had heard a new expression and wanted to know what it meant. He had heard someone say they were offering an olive branch.  He was convinced they were offering real food/olives to someone. My daughter got a real laugh from this and a reminder than we have to be careful to mean what we say.  Here’s the olive branch I’m offering you…

Olive Branch - ATC

 

 

 

12 Responses to “March 17, 2011”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Both of these are beautiful, but I really like the olive branch!

  2. Harriett Says:

    Glorious!

  3. Jeanne Says:

    Love them, Linda!!! And loved the olive branch story too!

  4. Oh my goodness. You were the very first person that commented on my blog, that I didn’t know! Ha! Boy did you make my night! You and that supermoon. This blog is wonderful. I can’t believe you like art & math. Mind boggling…thanks again Linda. 

  5. Francis Says:

    They are gorgeous, i love the tone of those olives, you make them shine.

  6. ruthsartwork Says:

    I like the olive branch painting and the story that went with it. I remember when my son was young and John said it was time to hit the road. He couldn’t figure out why we needed to hit the road. It seemed fine to him. It is fun watching kids learn all of the idiosycronies ot the English language.

    I also have a friend whose only child has Asperger’s. He has the same literalness in speech.


Leave a Reply

