Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 10, 2011 March 11, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:52 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Music has become very important to both me and my husband. Three years ago Ken gave me my first iPod Shuffle for Christmas and it changed my life. It introduced me to the ever expanding world of iTunes. I still keep my Shuffle updated with current tunes, cruise Time, People and Oprah mags looking for interesting new music and artists. I spend about an hour a day engrossed in my music as I fix breakfast and dinner. It has also been a real eye opener for my Grandchildren. Their eyes pop the first time they borrow Grandma’s Shuffle and hear Flor-Ida, Kanye West, Rihanna or Cee Lo Green. I love all types of music and there is a place for all of it in my day.

We thought Ken might be facing Chemo early this year, so I bought him an iPod Touch for Christmas. It is loaded with music, audiobooks and video. And he now LOVES music as much as I do. He looses himself in it. His favorite is Celtic music. What a blessing music is…he had forgotten the power it has to bring joy and to heal the soul.

Here is my latest drawing titled Music 3. It is graphite in a 5″ X 7″ sketchbook. I knew it was a hit when Ken saw it for the first time and said “Oh, I like that!”  Now I’m starting to think in color.

Music 3

 

8 Responses to “March 10, 2011”

  1. Judy Says:

    Linda, “Music 3” is the rhythm and the tune. An unpbeat thythm and a cheery tune, at that. Excellent! You never fail to inspire me with your appreciation and pursuit of all the sensory beauty in our world. Thank you!

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    I like what Judy, above says about this being the rhythm and the tune. Knowing it is about music, I think of how the sound wraps us up and gently caressess us or takes us in its’energy shakes us up. Nice drawing!

  3. aswirly Says:

    Music has so much power. I went to a free concert the other day featuring brazillian drums. I felt ready for battle after all those drums. Made me reflect on how music can really incite moods, sooth and calm the soul, and pump up the adrenaline. I love your drawing. It reminds me of a treble clef!

  4. Francis Says:

    You are truly creative, linking music with brush. I really like this piece, it’s kinda blend the two world together.


Leave a Reply

