Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 8, 2011 March 9, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 3:51 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

The Dark Place

First the good news – I tried something new! This painting is my first on clayboard. Part of my intention for 2011 is to learn by using materials that I’ve bought but never used. I thought they sounded interesting, other artists use them, but they sit in my storage containers. What’s the deal? Hey big, bad wolf named Failure, I’m not afraid! So this was my first time ever to work with this material. I find it to be very challenging because the clay is so absorbant and my painting style is normally very loose.  But the painting was fun, I learned ALOT and I will try it again. I think there is a place for it in my work.

Now the bad news. The subject came to mind while I sat in the Caregiver section of a cancer support group on Monday night. Depression was a subject that got loads of discussion and I thought of a “dark place” that draws and sucks you in, that holds you with filiments like those on a grapevine.  My dear blogging friends, I will be in and out of the blogging world for the next two months as my husband undergoes a new custom vaccine treatment for Stage 4 Prostate Cancer. His cancer was found in August and now we live our lives focused on quality of life rather than fear of death. My mind will be focused on this time and energy intensive treatment over the next two months and you will probably see more art that is driven by the emotions, sights and thoughts I experience.  But I will also paint the fresh beauty of the flowers of Spring…

 

 

14 Responses to “March 8, 2011”

  1. I love your ‘Dark Place.’ You put your soul into it….it just cries out. Wonderful. I will be sending my thoughts for healing as you post your new paintings.

  2. Chris Carter Says:

    Hundertwasser’s subject was often tragic, yet the paintings celebrated life and beauty. Emotion is nothing to shy away from. The pain comes from the love felt and shared. The world can benefit from the expression of that love, that pain that is another facet of that love. All will benefit from the strength of you love and your expression of all sides of that emotion. I am sorry for the challenges you are facing. On the other side of those challenges is the true expression of your spirit, quite beautiful to behold.

    • Chris I can not thank you enough. After reading your comment I looked at the paintings (and architecture – WOW!) of Hundertwasser. Like him I love the work of Klimt and Schiele. I am bowled over by his paintings. If I can ever come close to his celebration of life. I will be happy.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I am sorry for what you and your husband are having to face. Sending light and love to both of you as you walk this together. Beautiful painting, really. I would not have viewed it as an expression of a dark place had you not titled it such.

    • Leslie. I really believe in the power of the positive thoughts others send your way. At one time one of my granddaughters had emotional problems. Everyday…every hour really…I sent her wishes for Peace and Quiet and Healing. Thank you for sharing your positive spirit with us.

  4. davidtripp Says:

    Linda, I am so sorry. I just read your post and my heart goes out to both of you. Your art, your blogging and your helpful posts have been an inspiration to so many of us and now we pray that you draw the same healing and refreshment from us in return. All of our positive prayers and thoughts go out to you.

    • Thank you David. I believe the positive thoughts sent by all of you have the power to heal. Ken and I both understand the power of spiritual health to heal the body. Your wishes also bring peace and we thank you.

  5. This reminds me of a cancer painting I did when I was 18. I had cancer as a teenager, and whether you are a suffering or a caregiver, it is a dark place. My thoughts are with you and your husband.

  6. jwms1 Says:

    Linda,
    I think the painting is terrific. My husband has had a recently fought battle with oral and kidney cancer. He is doing wonderfully. I know how tough it is to go through the battle as the central caregiver. Our well wishes and prayers go with you.

  7. I really like this piece. It is strong and for some reason, in spite of the energy behind it, I see something tranquil and bright.

    I will have to look up information on clayboard. I’ve passed it in the aisles of a craft store but never paid much attention to it. It’s great you’re venturing out there with new materials.

  8. brendan campbell Says:

    what a beautiful piece. the colour is fantastic. i can’t stop looking…


Leave a Reply

