Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 28, 2011 March 1, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:54 am
Tags: , , , ,

On January 1, 2011 I said I wanted to focus more time on learning Sumi-e and improving my landscape paintings this year. As of February 28, 2011 I have done neither. Are these still a priority? I decided YES so I did this landscape sketch with no preliminary drawing in my wet media sketchbook. I only had about 20 minutes to give but I took my first baby step. Yeah!

Landscape Sketch 02282011

 

13 Responses to “February 28, 2011”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Loose, transparent and beautiful, Linda! Hope your back is still feeling better.

  2. Francis Says:

    Sumi-e, i bought a book on that two years back, never did have the courage to try it out. I guess it’s kind of similar to chinese rice paper painting but with more elegent stroke. Your painting looks great, keep up the good work.

  3. Rachel Says:

    I love this, Linda. Loose and watery and beautiful! good for you for jumping in…

  4. Very nice. I love sumi brushes, but I never learned to relate to sumi paper.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Gretchen, I am very flexible. I do sumi-e strokes with my watercolors and sumi-e brushes and the other way around. I use sumi-e sketch and painting paper, newsprint, all sorts of Japanese papers and even cheap watercolor paper and ATC cards.

  5. Harriett Smith Says:

    I LOVE your work!

  6. Beautiful!! I think it’s the spontaneous artworks that truly tap into are creative souls.

  7. davidtripp Says:

    This is gorgeous! Educate me about Sumi-e. I’ve heard the word but never followed up on what it involves. I really like the airiness of this sketch. Plenty of atmosphere. Impressionistic is how it strikes me. And you did it so quickly! I really have trouble loosening up and working fast like this. I don’t mean to, but I get caught up in detail, and that drags me to a screeching crawl.

  8. Hi David. Hope this helps – In his classic book Composition, American artist and educator Arthur Wesley Dow wrote this about sumi-e: “put upon the paper the fewest possible lines and tones; just enough to cause form, texture and effect to be felt. Every brush-touch must be full-charged with meaning, and useless detail eliminated. Put together all the good points in such a method, and you have the qualities of the highest art”. Sumi-e uses ink, usually black but they do make colored inks as well. It is an attempt to put the soul of the object on paper and the artist normally studies the object deeply before painting it. It is a case of less is more. Their are seven brush strokes and I lump calligraphy and painting together. For me Sumi-e is an interest because I want to improve my focus, painting strokes and compositions. Hope this isn’t too much info…


Leave a Reply

