Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 27, 2011 February 28, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:50 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

What do you think of my gorgeous husband? Look familiar? Oh.. OK so Michelangelo did it first. Yesterday was my first day off the heating pad and I am finally feeling like moving around more. So I got out my trusty aquabrushes and my watercolors and went to town…to Florence to be specific. This is my second favorite sculpture. Michelangelo’s Pieta is my favorite. I am in awe of his talent, his ability to create beauty, serenity and power. Several months ago I cut out a small black and white photo of his David with the intent to paint it as a sepia monotone. After doing the drawing the sepia felt too lifeless so I used cobalt, ultramarine and a puddle of “yesterday’s paint” that was a red-purple. I was pleased with this little sketch. Glad I did it!

Michelangelo's David

 

11 Responses to “February 27, 2011”

  1. jwms1 Says:

    Very nice! I just visited “The David” in Oct of 2010. Thanks for the return visit. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. gregorbucik Says:

    nice drawing! been to Florence before, beautiful city, art, architecture, people, food.. all great! ๐Ÿ™‚ Good work!!

  3. johnhobbie Says:

    Good use of watercolor on a figure. This is difficult to do. May I suggest that your pencil line be allowed to flow through the figure in the same way you move the brush throughout. Outlining sometimes prevents a drawing from being able to breath. Well done.

  4. I can see why you’re pleased, I’d be over-the-moon! Beautiful Linda. I use Aquacolours all the time, but not the brushes. Your brush work is excellent and the colour, especially the shadows are stunning. I love it!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you keith. I am envious of your work as well. You are doing “complete ” work while I only have time and energy to sketch right now. But this is all bubbling away in my brain, right?

  5. Carol King Says:

    I loved, loved, loved seeing David when I was in Florence and this brought me right back there.

    I’m starting to get a little spooked. I saw that you just posed a dog and I did as well. Now I see you did David and I just did a spear thrower. (haven’t posted that one yet.)

    Are you getting into my brain? ๐Ÿ™‚ Or I, yours?

  6. Yousei Hime Says:

    The Pieta is also my favorite. For years, I had a magazine photo of it in one of my journals. Just takes my breath away.


Leave a Reply

