Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 23, 2011 February 24, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:23 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

It is amazing how much you can draw when you are flat on your back. I helped my husband assemble a new bookcase and move it around and, of course, the next morning my back went out. This has happened two times in two months and I have put down my foot. No more furniture assembly and moving for me. Anyway, I decided to look at the bright side and to use the time to do another drawing. I started by thinking about cells but then spun off into mosaics and wound up thinking about zinna petals. I think you can see the influence of all three.

Drawing 02232011

I think it looks like some weird cobblestone path. Since I had lots of time, I decided to use my colored pencils to play with the zinna petal concept. The top ring is more of a burgundy and red blend and the lower ring is more of a red and gold blend.

Drawing 02232011 with Colored Pencil

Not totally successful but fun to play with and kept my foggy brain occupied during two days on a heating pad.

 

12 Responses to “February 23, 2011”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Hope you are up and feeling well soon, Linda. I like the graphite rendition of this pattern as much as the colored version. These are very fun to look at.

  2. Love this, Linda. Shading all those petals must be a bit like doodling. Definitely passes the time. A full fledged painting could come out of this.

  3. The drawings are wonderful; sorry about your back though

  4. Jana Bouc Says:

    I hope your back gets better soon. I hate when that happens. You make me think of Frida Kahlo who spent so much time in bed on her back but painting still.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I also thought of Frida Kahlo. She was actually an inspiration. If she could do it, I (wimp that I am) could do it.

  5. Carol King Says:

    Oh no! Sorry to hear about your back. Did you draw holding the pad up in the air?

    I like your zinnia/cobblestone mosaics. You’ve inspired me to try an abstract. I will post it soon.

    Thanks for the inspiration. Hope you’re back on your feet. Tell your husband to get some young kid to help him assemble and move furniture.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I’m getting ready to check your blog to see if you’ve posted your abstract. Don’t allow yourself to set any rules. Just Play!


Leave a Reply

