Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 13, 2011 February 14, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:11 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Here we go – one more attempt to work on composition. This drawing was inspired by music and the fold at the top right of the drawing.  Last night I kept seeing the fold – a dark, thin strip folded sharply with the tales moving in opposite directions. As I worked on the drawing I integrated a swirling movement that made me think of a lilting, looping pattern of music. I felt like the “ribbon” was going to fly away if it wasn’t anchored somehow so I added the oval shape to tie it down. This was really fun and pushed me to think…

Music #1 - 5" X 7" Graphite Drawing

 

14 Responses to “February 13, 2011”

  1. gregorbucik Says:

    amazing Linda 🙂 and how many things you’ve painted and drawn in the last days, great work!!!
    maybe i’ll make a special post in the future, i have many pencil drawings from the first year of studies (architectural drawing) 🙂 just need to find a good scanner for A3 format..
    Keep making beautiful drawings!!

    ps: and thumbs-up for watching Godfather, cool movie 😀

    • Thank you Gregor. I feel like I am in a period of thought. These small sketches, drawings, paintings – whatever – seem to be feeding my subconcious. I feel like a plant underground being nourished and getting ready to sprout. I am not prepared right now to take on a large scale painting so I am in meditation (?) mode. Probably more than you ever wanted to know.

  2. jwms1 Says:

    Very appealing! I love one and think you ought to do a series with this idea.

  3. Carol King Says:

    I like the oval shape anchoring the ribbon. It looks like the ribbon will sway and move to the sound of the music.

  4. Hi Carol, I thought so too. And you know how I love my circles. After all an oval is just a circle that’s relaxed….right?

  5. Alina Says:

    Very interesting your sketch,dear friend!
    Relaxing too!

    Have a nice day! 🙂

  6. Chris Carter Says:

    I like the path you are exploring and the fun you are having along the way

  7. lesliepaints Says:

    Life unfolding. That was the thought that this inspired in me as I saw the oval as an egg. Neat idea!

  8. artimagica Says:

    To me this looks rather like a music note. I love the movement and what you did with the light and shadow. Fun!


Leave a Reply

