Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 12, 2011 February 13, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:27 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have been working with color lately and have usually had a specific subject in mind. Both a good thing! Last night I decided to watch the original Godfather movie and it is a long one. While I watched and listened, I decided to do some drawing with nothing in mind except for a focus on composition. For me understanding what makes a “good” composition is the most challenging thing I face as an artist. I used 6H, 2B and 6B pencils and here’s what I completed.

Abstract Composition Drawing

To me it looks like a melding of Leger and O’Keefe. I liked the simplicity of it.  If your willing to comment, please tell me how you would improve the composition. Thanks to all who visit!

 

8 Responses to “February 12, 2011”

  1. jwms1 Says:

    I like the way you have broken up the plane of your drawing and how you have suspended realistic perspective by by the use of shadowing and layering your elements. You have also done a good job of directing the eye around the drawing. Very interesting.

  2. Thank you. I worked on composition and also on my sadly neglected drawing!

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I think this is rather superb in regards to composition. Knowing you love math and form, it does not surprise me that you used shape and value in your approach. The center of interest, for me, is where the curving diagonal runs behind the lower circle in the upper lefthand quadrant. Nice placement as you already know. The fact that you included other circles in the verticals and, in varying numbers is also excellent. They create contrast and keep my eye from sliding off the page on the verticals. I also applaud you fading these verticals out at the edges of the page, furthur keeping my eye on the page. This would be wonderful to see how you would handle this in color. Remember in your struggle to understand composition that there are no hard and fast rules. They are suggestions to artists that have been known to work in attracting the viewer’s attention and tantalizing the eye.

  4. I see that every one has been busy this year lots of paintings and sketches While I have bee stuck on one painting. They look great

  5. eeaart Says:

    That looks really cool 🙂 keep it up!!!

  6. eaglewing12 Says:

    reminds me of Escher’s “Cube with Magic Ribbons”. The form is somehow very appealing.


Leave a Reply

