Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 11, 2011 February 12, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 4:38 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One more sketch inspired by Georgia O’Keefe. This is not a copy of one of her paintings but a sketch from a photo of a dry waterfall near her home in New Mexico. I loved the texture and deep shadows. I hope some day I can visit this part of the United States. Beautiful!

Dry Waterfall - Made with Watercolor Crayons, Aquabrushes and 5" X 7" Sketchbook

 

12 Responses to “February 11, 2011”

  1. The scenery,rocks,dirt,mountains,clouds,sky…everything in New Mexico is just like she painted it. Breathtaking. I hope that you do get to visit there. As an artist especially you would be amazed. I stayed in Sante Fe for a brief time and sketched early in the morning. There were all these really big dogs where I was and they just roamed about. Loved it.

  2. Posted the last blurb before I got to say that I like your sketch. It reminded me of my stay there.

  3. Judy Says:

    I love the transparency and beauty of your brushstrokes. You really captured your subject matter well!

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    Reminds me of Georgia O’Keefe, actually, since I have read about her so much and viewed the pictures in the books of where she lived at that time of her life. I really like how the use of your dark darks made the cliffs so much more beautiful.

  5. artimagica Says:

    In 2009 my husband and I visited the ranch she lived on. Your work takes me back to that visit. A beautiful part of the world. My brother and his wife live in Taos and we visit that area frequentlly. I lived in NM for a year when I was 14. It was so radically different from the East coast. I love the open spaces but I love the lush green world I live in. Of course, it’s not lush and green right now!!! A lovely piece.

    • Wow! You are so lucky. I really love someday I get to Ghost Ranch and Abiqui. I am also a big fan of Victor Higgins paintings and he was one of the Taos seven. Must be a reaction to my life-long residence in Indiana. Give me sunshine!

  6. Carol King Says:

    I love the perspective in your cliffs. The deep darks against the browns and ochres.

  7. I thought this was great Linda, I say ‘thought’ as I posted a comment a few days earlier which seems to have disappeared! I’ve had a few of those on my own blog too! Love your sketches too!

  8. davidtripp Says:

    This is gorgeous! I attempted my first cliff painting last summer, and wondered why I had waited so long! I love to look at the striations of cliffs and mountainsides, and yet so seldom do I try to capture those images with a brush. Well done!


Leave a Reply

