Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 8, 2011 February 9, 2011

I am reading The Art & Life of Georgia O’Keefe by Jan Castro for the docent bookclub at the Indianapolis Museum of Art. We have three O’Keefe’s on display, including her fabulous Jimson Weed. She is one of my favorite artists and I love her floral paintings. I am caregiving for my brother-in-law, who just had knee replacement surgery, so I had time yesterday to complete a semi-copy of one of her oils. I have always liked the drama in this painting.

Red Leaf (ala O'Keefe)

I did not have the materials with me to do an actual copy so I started with a photograph from the book and then just worked on my own. I painted it in my wet media sketchbook and used my aquabrushes and a pan set of 12 watercolors. I also used colored pencil and watercolor markers. I am doing a lot of mixed media work right now and am going to have to start using the better materials in my studio to get back to watercolor painting. I can’t get the crisp line with these portable materials but they are great for what I’ve been working on. Finding the right “tool” is always the key to success!

 

 

4 Responses to “February 8, 2011”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    This is warm regardless of the idea of the single red leaf. I like the line in it and that really keeps me looking. As much as I like line, I have never been real bowled over by Georgia O’keefe. I don’t know why as I think she was a “phenomenal” artist!. The flow of her “lines in her pieces and the simplicity of her subject material speaks “volumes” and packs a “punch”. I naver fail to admire that.

  2. Leslie – most interesting fact from the book – O’Keefe was taught by Alfred Dow early in her career and Dow was heavily influenced by the color theory developed by Gauguin while living in the Briton fishing village of Pont Aven.
    The IMA has a large collection of Gauguin’s and an entire Pont Aven gallery. I’m going to look for similarities but as soon as I read this it “clicked”.

  3. This is great, and I hope someday (when the weather changes) that I can make it up to Indy and hopefully you and your husband can show me some galleries. That is if the winter ever goes away!

  4. artimagica Says:

    This is a beautiful piece Linda and I love how you always seem to be armed with materials with which to work. I admire that you find time here and there, seemingly every day, to fit in some creativity. Kudos!


Leave a Reply

