Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 7, 2011 February 7, 2011

One more time…I saw a face with rather intense eyes and it made me think of a Nordic explorer or Scandinavian fisherman. For this sketch I painted a watercolor underpainting and finished with colored pencil. I must have really been tensed up waiting for the Super Bowl because I can see where I incised the paper with my 2B pencil as I made my gestural drawing. Now that’s pressure!

Nordic Explorer

 

One Response to “February 7, 2011”

  1. you have some cool effects going on in this. some great subtleties are possible with this process. the under painting with watercolor and then working over that with pencil or colored pencil can be quite interesting. i noticed you mentioning that you are incising the paper with your pencils sometimes. when you want this, that’s cool. however when you dont want it, it sounds like may be what you want is a softer lead so you can go darker. if that is why you are pressing hard enough to incise the paper, just use a softer lead.


Leave a Reply

