Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 5, 2011 February 6, 2011

I am still working with eyes and where they take me so I thought I would show you the drawings that started all this. Back in 1986 I took a big book of phtotographs from the public library. I don’t remember who the photographer was but I know I was fascinated by several pairs of striking eyes. During this time period I had very little time to draw or paint so I sat down with my sketch pad and drew the following…I think you will recognize at least a couple of the sketches.

Eartha Kitt's Eyes

And…

Mia Farrow Eyes from the Great Gatsby, Bette Davis Eyes and Bertrand Russell Eyes

I have always been fascinated by eyes that are topped by eyebrows that go up as they reach nose..that look like they’ve been lifted at the end by a fish hook. Brian Williams of NBC News has eyes like this and so does Colin Farrell. Here is my attempt at capturing the eyes and eyebrows of Farrell with his scepticism and tentative nature.

As one of you said “The eyes have it!”

 

9 Responses to “February 5, 2011”

  1. Just love your sketches of eyes. Excellent.

  2. jwms1 Says:

    Eye like! Terrific job.

  3. You draw like a sculptor and that’s something you don’t see everyday. These eyes show another side to you Linda, the modelling with the pencil is extremely good. I’m very impressed and would love to see more of this kind of work. Great draughtsmanship.

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    “She’s got Bette Davis eyes”. I used to play that song over and over. Very cool eye studies. I like these studies better than the completed faces, I think. It is just plain fun to make up what might be there. Good post, Linda.

  5. Bosartis Says:

    Hi Linda,
    Always nice to see other artists work and I also love drawing and painting eyes, both animal and human. Nice to see different styles managing the same features. Interesting blog site, which I have still to have a good trawl through. I’m about to post a couple of eye works I managed recently without the aid of computer. I’ll see how these are received by my graphics friends.
    Nice of you to stop by my site – which I have altered theme-wise yesterday, so it may look a little different.
    John B. . .


Leave a Reply

