Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 1, 2011 February 2, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:28 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Wow is it windy and cold! We now have 2″ of ice and snow on the way. What a winter…

Yesterday was a day of paperwork and organization. I decided to enter three competitions that occur early in the year. I already have paintings framed and labeled so it’s only a matter of selection and paperwork. I got everything ready for two of the possibilities yesterday while my husband worked on our tax returns – always an interesting, frustrating and depressing activity. As I reviewed my 2010 drawings and paintings an interesting thing happened. I remembered an ink drawing I did in the middle of the year.

Red-Cockaded Woodpeckers - Ink Drawing

It was of red-cockaded woodpeckers and I was never satisfied with it because I thought I overworked it. My husband also did not care for it – probably for different reasons. I did the drawing with permanent ink so I decided to treat it as a grisaille and to use my watercolors to paint over the drawing. Here’s the result and – finally – I don’t itch to fidget with it.

Red-Cockaded Woodpeckers

 

 

10 Responses to “February 1, 2011”

  1. sappling Says:

    I think the colors added some depth that wasn’t there in the ink drawing.

  2. Be safe my friend up north, just stay inside and create more wonderful paintings!

    • Ken and I have 3 different appointments scheduled for tomorrow. This ice is awful and we are supposed to have more snow tonight. I am afraid we will have to cancel everything. It has taken Ken an hour to chip away a one foot square on our porch. The ice is around two inches thick. It is incredible!

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I’m really impressed with the look of the bark on that pine tree, Linda! Your addition of color really brought this to life!

    • Thank you, Leslie. I found myself in a position where I could see the merits but couldn’t figure out what to do to salvage it. I think painting over the drawing added depth, texture and interest. It just took me eight months to have the lightbulb moment!

  4. This is interesting for me Linda, it’s how I’ve been painting of late. Shadows and values first, then the colour. It’s brilliant, you must be very pleased. I love it!

    • Keith, I think it turned out better than I ever expected. I am not in the mood to work really hard right now (I think it’s our horrible winter!) but I’m having fun with the little projects I’m working on.

  5. I absolutely love the background in this painting! Beautiful. Thank you so much for stopping by my fledgling blog. 🙂 http://naturescharms.wordpress.com

  6. aswirly Says:

    The color gives so much depth to the picture. It’s really beautiful.


Leave a Reply

