Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 22, 2011 January 23, 2011

I have been wanting to do a painting of a poinsettia for a couple of years but, during the busy holiday season when the plants are available, I never think of it. I received a beautiful poinsettia plant as a gift this year and yesterday was the day. I also wanted to do a sketch using the S&W pencils on paper that is made for wet media so last night I did it. I got two birds with one stone as the old saying goes. (Somehow I couldn’t force myself to use the word kill!)

 

Poinsettia Sketch using Sketch & Wash Pencils and Aquabrushes

The results are much better if you use the right paper. I achieved the best results by wetting my aquabrush and then dapping the lead at the end of the pencil. Kind of the same way I typically use watercolor crayons. I am learning and I think you can see the improvement. I am still not really happy with what I can achieve (I am not getting dark darks) but I am having fun trying!

 

 

 

11 Responses to “January 22, 2011”

  1. Chris Carter Says:

    I think it is lovely. You achieved the feel of the layering leaves as they spiral into the blossom.

  2. Very nice. Very graceful. There is much detail and good contrast even though you say it is difficult to achieve darks. Did it take you a long time?

    • I was watching TV while I worked on this. I would let it dry and then say – “Not dark enough!” so I would add a another layer. In total it took about 30 or 40 minutes but I worked on it off and on for about 2 hours.

  3. Teri C Says:

    Really wonderful results. The leaves are so shapely and shaded so well.

    Thanks for the visit, now I got to see your wonderful art.

  4. ruthsartwork Says:

    I like your poinsetta drawing very much. Sometimes the “waiting” time between the actual drawing sessions can be just as important. I have spent my share of time painting in front of the tv, too. It can be decent background noise.

  5. aloha Linda – yeah. the line in this is great. along with the shape of the leaves you’ve caught the essence of this plant. it’s delicate leaf and full bushy shape. yeah, you’ve caught the individual edge in each leaf – that’s a great way of seeing (imo). i think in the painting (the next post) some of the beauty of your line disappears. i like seeing your line a lot in the drawings. for me, that’s one of the things that can become exciting in art – the elements we use creating our work – line, shape, texture etc. for me allowing the viewer to see this in the finished work adds a layer of beauty that goes beyond the subject. i like that concept a lot. i like the direction you are moving in with these. cool. aloha.

  6. Mahalo, Wric! I was really happy with this painting. On the little ATC I agree that the line got lost. I have no experience with grisaille so I am learning how deep the values need to be to integrate well with the paint to make a complete whole of a painting. I enjoyed working these pieces and cannot believe how much I am learning. Aloha

  7. gregorbucik Says:

    linda nice work!
    i just found this link here: http://www.animationarchive.org/?p=2066

    it’s about wash painting, it’s interesting and shows examples of different types of wash painting techniques 🙂
    maybe you’ll like it!
    Have a nice time drawing! 🙂


Leave a Reply

