Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 20, 2011 January 21, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:57 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

More fun with the aquabrushes today. I did this little painting in my sketchbook. The subject is Paradise Fish. I think they are lovely and luminous. I did them with two of my aquabrushes and my set of Pelikan gouache pan paints. I am really getting the hang of working with these brushes and like the glow in the painting. I touched up with colored pencils because I had trouble with the blues. Being goache they didn’t glow!

Paradise Fish

 

By the way, the last two days I have been painting in a Bee Paper “Aquabee” Super Deluxe 9″ X 6″ Sketchbook and I like the way the paper handles lots of water. Bravo to Bee!

 

 

10 Responses to “January 20, 2011”

  1. cassymuronaka Says:

    This is completely gorgeous, Linda. Truly.

  2. Thank you Cassy! The actual sketch is not quite as YELLOW.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    Very bright and colorful, Linda! I like the shapes of the one fish swimming over the other.

  4. Thank you Leslie. I read an article recently that talked about 7 good compositional structures. One was the S or Z design that I yried to use here.

  5. Rachel Says:

    Beautiful and fresh! are these the brushes you fill the cavity with water and squeeze to use?

  6. Carol King Says:

    Your paradise fish are wonderful. They are so bright. I just used gouache for the first time yesterday and couldn’t do a thing with the paints. So brava to you.

  7. mdenholm Says:

    I love the color pallet! Interesting fact: cheap aqua brushes can be filled with ink instead of water for a quick brush pen. After a few months, the bristles will start to disintegrate, though.


Leave a Reply

