Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 19, 2011 January 20, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Portraits & Self Portraits,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:57 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I had fun yesterday playing with my aquabrushes and I feel like I’m learning alot about control and how to use them. I can see how these will be very beneficial when traveling. No water to spill!

I did two more faces but I will admit I took the easy way out and used watercolor rather than the sketch and wash pencils.

Asian Student done with Aquabrush and Burnt Sienna Watercolor

I switched to a new sketchbook that I bought late last year. The paper is heavy and suitable for wet media. What a difference!

Asian Lady

I thought I should use the right paper in order to give these new tools a fair shot. I have grown to like using the aquabrushes. They are very practical. Maybe tomorrow I will try the S&W pencils again on this heavier paper.

 

8 Responses to “January 19, 2011”

  1. I will have to check Aqua brushes out, I don’t think I have ever seen them before. These are beautifully warm, especially using the burnt sienna color.

  2. I bought a set of 4 different sizes from Cheap Joe’s Catalog. The thing I really like is that I can do watercolor sketches working on the coach in the eveing without having an open container of water.

  3. Love your portraits. Very sensitive.

  4. Carol King Says:

    Wow, what beautiful expressive portraits.

  5. I really like these! The monochromatic approach really interests me, I’ve practised a lot but without your success. Great work Linda.


Leave a Reply

