Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 18, 2011 January 19, 2011

I must admit that I am having difficulty finding time and motivation to be creative right now. I am not going to bore you with my whining but I AM trying to get moving! Last night I decided to try a small sketch in an older sketchbook. Last year I bought a set of aquabrushes and had used one brush, one time. Two years ago I bought 2 Wash & Sketch pencils and have only used them (for their purpose) a couple of times. I decided to work with these two items since I hate to buy materials and then leave them unused. I always figure that if they are sold in the catalogs they must be useful to other artists. It’s just a matter of education and training. Right? Right! Anyway I painted this little portrait/face and learned alot.

Woman's Face, Aquabrush and Sketch & Wash Pencil, 5" X 7" Sketchbook

To use the pencils, which leave streaky lines when I draw and then paint over them, I used the wet brush to get color from the pencil tip. I am learning to use the brush to get different color values.  I also tried a small amount of charcoal pencil in the background to see if painting it with clear water would “seal” it and this also worked pretty well. All in all, a good learning experience!

 

13 Responses to “January 18, 2011”

  1. Very nice portrait Linda. Much pathos and depth. When I ‘can’t work’….I too just sit down and start something not demanding. It really works to pull myself out of myself. Sometimes I peruse you tube for how to art videos. I have learned a lot by viewing these ‘lessons.’ I discovered ‘peach tree sap.’ It turned out to be a medium tool that I had been looking for and hadn’t found. Gave me the ability to achieve an effect I had never been able to master before. It slows down the spread of the paint and creates spider like runs.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Wow! The peachtree sap sounds like fun to play with. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for it…yikes! maybe I have it and have never used it.

  2. Chris Carter Says:

    I like the effect. I’ve often had to force myself to use tools I’ve purchased, thinking they will be wonderful when in fact they are not. Sometimes, struggling with them has led me to a new technique that I can incorporate into my work. Eventually, if I really don’t like the “Wonder Tool” I give it to someone else to struggle with and continue the new technique with my standard tools. Anything that expands my vocabulary is welcome.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I am learning to use the aquabrushes and think they will be fun to use when traveling. I am going to have to work with the S&W pencils more. I keep thinking I am missing something!

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I have worked with the aqua pencils and always had to resort back to the old standards to achieve the darks. I like what you achieved with this portrait. Lots of feeling!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I am going to try them on better paper. So far I have only used them in my old sketchbook which does not have paper suitable for watermedia. Maybe that will make difference.

  4. artimagica Says:

    Hmmmmm, never heard of aqua pencils. Sounds interesting. I’ll have to look for them online. Nice work!

  5. Carol King Says:

    I will have to check out the aqua brush and the sketch and wash pencils. I like your portrait very much. It sounds like you are having fun experimenting.

  6. This portrait stopped me in my tracks, lovely technique and master’s skills in the draughtsmanship of that face. You draw so very well Linda.

  7. Emma Says:

    Great sketch-so much emotion.


Leave a Reply

