Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 13, 2011 January 15, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:44 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

During January I’ve posted two just completed paintings of tulips. I thought I would show you an older painting of tulips. This is my first original painting of tulips and, as you can see, I must have a thing for the RED tulips.

Red Tulips (2008)

I thought you might enjoy seeing how my work has progressed in two years. This particular painting found a very happy home with a local photographer who, unknown to us, had taken a photo of our dogs at the Farmer’s Market, modified it to look like a painting and then left it for us as a gift. I wanted to thank him so I matted this painting and gave it to him with a BIG round of applause and thanks. He told us later his wife was thrilled with my painting so it worked out as a win-win for everyone.

 

13 Responses to “January 13, 2011”

  1. Luscious. Lucky photographer. It’s a happy painting.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Beautiful tulip painting, Linda. Love the story togo with it. I think you did an incredible job with this. You have even managed to get the feel of movement in the leaves, below. Appears as though a gentle breeze is slightly moving them.

  3. judy Says:

    That story makes my heart sing! How I wish there could be more paying forward in our world. Linda, I love your early red tulips, but your current red tulips are like the duckling turned to swan! Your diligence is being rewarded. On, sail on!

  4. Carol King Says:

    Great story and a fabulous tulip painting.

  5. jwms1 Says:

    Linda,
    Lovely tulips. I have been touring your blog and really enjoy your posts.
    I love the trees you posted in December. I am thinking I will try your printmaking paper and charcoal process. I am looking forward to more!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Good luck with the new process…if you don’t like the charcoal try it with hard pastels. That also works. You can also layer the two.

  6. Stephen Says:

    This is such delicate watercolour – I like this – and it is great to give away such a beautiful piece.

  7. Beautiful! I love your style of painting.


Leave a Reply

