Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 11, 2011 January 12, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:32 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

A Dragon it is! I just finished reading a book of Chinese Myths and Legends. The IMA has a really great collection of Asian Art and I am trying to learn more about the stories behind the scroll paintings so I can give better tours. Dragons are considered auspicious and you see them in painting, architecture, textiles and furnishings so a dragon it is for my latest work.

 

Dragon!

 

I used the watercolor background that I posted yesterday and then drew a generic dragon after looking through my art books. I used two different sets of watercolor markers and found out right away that one of them is drying out and that I do not have light, pastel colors. Where the color of the background shows through I have used the set that is drying up to achieve the light coverage. All in all I am very happy because I wised up about when to use the different sets early enough to get opaque coverage on the head and paw that are coming towards you. I really like some of the sections where the underpainting shows through adding texture and life.

 

14 Responses to “January 11, 2011”

  1. lynnemedsker Says:

    What a fun piece! I really like the bold colors for such a bold creature. Isn’t it amazing how the input we get from reading, viewing, etc. influences the direction of our art!

  2. Barry Coombs Says:

    A lively and vibrant piece. The texture is very appealing. It got me thinking. I used to work at the Art Gallery of Ontario with a very talented writer/illustrator named Ian Wallace. He wrote and illustrated a fabulous children’s book called ‘Chin Chiang and the Dragon’s Dance’. I looked up his website and found only one or two of his plates for the book. One is at http://www.ian-wallace.com/gallery_Chin.html.

  3. Love your dragon with its vibrant colors and it is perfect on the background..I’m in a storybook..!
    Ronell

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    Awesome dragon and approach, Linda! The colors make the viewer have to “see” this!

  5. Barry Coombs Says:

    By the way, I noticed that from Step One to the final Dragon you flipped the sheet over. Was that a conscious decision?

    • Barry, You are incredibly observant! I did not realize I switched the orientation. I taped the paper to paint the background and removed the taped to photograpg it for my blog. Then I retaped it to work on the design. I think I built the drawing around the background (to a certain extent anyway) so that is probably why it works. My original idea was to have the tail crisscross the paper and I modified that to fit the background better. Serendipity strikes again. Thank you for your comments! I am intrigued by the work of Ian Wallace and am researching him further. Thank you for sharing!

  6. Carol King Says:

    Cool dragon! I liked seeing your progress.

  7. artimagica Says:

    I LOVE dragons! This is wonderful and the bright colors really pop and bring him towards you. Beautiful!

  8. if i understand you right, i think i like where you’ve used the dried out markers – like on the tail – a lot. i think i like it because it allows the background to show through in interesting ways and i like that intermingling. there is a place for the opaque markers – and i like your thinking to use them to come forward. i think it would be great to also have the delicate background come forward in places too – you do that some in the arm area to the right – and that to me begins to pop and pulse. another area that might allow this kind of thing to happen is the blue feather/scales which are between a somewhat opaque green skull and the black/dark behind the blue feather/scales. sometimes an area like the blue feather/scales can pop forward if it’s simply surrounded – or trapped by the opaque areas. i wouldnt rework this one, it’s just something to think about for future work. that alternating pulse – background/foreground can become quite exciting, especially when you have exciting backgrounds as you do.


Leave a Reply

