Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 9, 2011 January 10, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Portraits & Self Portraits — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:21 am
Tags: , , , ,

I am fascinated by faces and find portraits very difficult to draw. I am just learning to paint them and have completed two watercolor paintings. I started doing pencil portraits of my boyfriends when I was in middle school. I have only done a few because portraits of real people seem to take me so long to do. I have always been a real perfectionist about these because the people were so important to me. I thought I would share the drawing I made of my husband after we started dating in 1975. I am not sure I could do much better today!

Ken 1975

The graphite is a little faded today and the paper from my sketchbook has yellowed a little but I can still feel the golden glow as the sun hits his light brown eyes.

 

3 Responses to “January 9, 2011”

  1. Stephen Says:

    Hey Linda – What a great memory to have. I like this work – What a dashing figure! I am sure you should develop this ability.

  2. Stephen Says:

    Well there you are – And – you have been doing that already – this is great


Leave a Reply

