Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 1, 2011 January 2, 2011

I have finished my Three Red Tulips watercolor…for now. I am putting it under a mat so I can see if it needs additional work. I am pretty happy with it at the moment. I am going to paint this a second time making two changes. First I want to work with a pastel palette and intend to make the tulips pink or yellow…probably yellow since I will learn a lot by painting shadows on yellow tulips. Second, Wric recommended that I paint the tulips (the main objects) before the background so I don’t struggle to make the objects look “up to” a dramatic background. I am going to follow that recommendation which I thought was very smart (gave me a duh moment!). So it will be paint tulips, mask tulips, paint background, remove mask and work entire painting. Thank you Wric for the recommendation!

Just a comment…the image I’ve included is scanned. When you see the actual painting the color transitions in the leaves and stem are smooth, not delinated like they look here.

Three Red Tulips - Final

Thoughts for 2011…I want to spend time focusing on landscapes this year – both realistic and abstract, both watercolor and acrylic. I want to continue my attempt to learn Sumi-e but with more dedication this year. I want to improve my skills as I learn from and am inspired by my fellow artists. I will continue to experiment with techniques, subjects and materials they explain so generously.

 

14 Responses to “January 1, 2011”

  1. gregorbucik Says:

    love this picture 🙂 can’t wait to see more landscapes!!
    oh, and a happy new year!! 🙂

  2. That’s beeeautiful. It makes me happy.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    How did you like working with all that red? I just tried reds, also, and had a blast with them. This is beautiful. When I think of tulips, I always think of red ones. I don’t know why. Very bright and eye-catching, Linda! 🙂

    • I enjoyed working with so much red. I remember my first class in 2007. Sandy Ezell made the comment that, since the development of Winsor Red, a red tulip had not been painted without using Winsor Red. I have always remembered that and tried to use only Alizarin Crimson and Quin Magenta with a tad of yellow occasionally dropped in… but…in the end I had to use Winsor Red to finish it. Right now I am doing a repeat with yellow tulips. Working with all the yellows is also fun – and challenging.

  4. Carol King Says:

    I love the composition and the deep, vibrant reds. I like your background but I’m looking forward to seeing your next version with the tulips painted first and then the background added later.

    Good luck with all your dreams for 2011!

    • Thank you Carol. I am painting yellow tulips and am getting close to being ready for the background. I am also 2% into a simple Indiana landscape. I have trouble focusing on more than one painting at a time.

  5. allicette Says:

    WOW! I am enamored of this work. It is so luscious! What is the size on this?

  6. Wow, Linda, this is stunning! Can’t wait to see the yellow version. Congrats on your anniversary, and one woman show! and thanks for your comment on my blog.

    Rachel

    • Rachel, I hope you enjoy blogging as much as I do. It is so much fun! Yellow is almost finished. I am working on the finishing touches. Yellow is so hard to work with. Thank you for subscribing. This is a real motivator.

  7. Chris Carter Says:

    Why did you mask the tulips? I guess I’m just too impatient to deal with masking. If I need to keep an edge, I work on something else to let the painting dry absolutely completely, then return to it being careful to hold the edge. I’m just curious. I keep waiting for a good reason to try masking again. I did it thirty years ago and vowed I would never do it again.

  8. aloha Linda – i have to say, yeah, those tulips really pop forward from the background. cool. and potent.


Leave a Reply

