Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

December 18, 2010 December 19, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 2:52 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

When I posted my “Sentinel” pieces Leslie asked me if I had anymore good stuff tucked away.  I have talked so much about my interest in geometry this year that I thought I would show Geometry #1. This painting was done in 2008 and was my original attempt to incorporate geometry into my art.  You can see the curves and lines, circles and trapezoids.  I donated this painting to our local PBS station for their silent auction and received a wonderful note from the person that bought it. It now hangs in her office at the home of Indiana Historic Preservation. When I look at it I think of spinning planets or an overflowing treasure chest full of gold and colorful jewels.

Geometry #1 , 12" X 16" on Illustration Board

 

 

9 Responses to “December 18, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    This is beautiful! It makes me think of stained glass. I love it that the pencil marks are still visible. I can see parts of your creating this. I also find it intriguing that you are so interested in geometric shapes and work in watercolor. Do you enjoy Franz Marc paintings? This painting makes me think of him.

    • I was not familiar with the name but when I looked up Franz Marc on the web I saw that I was familiar with some of his painting. The painting with the three horses has always been a favorite. I am going to spend more time looking at his pure abstracts. This should be fun and thought provoking for me.

  2. Renee G Says:

    I absolutely love this geometric watercolor! The colors are really exquisite. I have done a lot of geometric collage work and other math-oriented art work with children and have always been intrigued by the intersection of math and art. You’ve certainly made a connection here!

    • Hi Renee, Check out November 11, 2010 Blogpost. I have a degree in math from Purdue and have tried to merge my love of art and math. This post talks about my struggles and shows my best solution to date. It might befun for you to see. It sounds like we have a lot in common. Thank you for visiting!

  3. Wonderful color and shapes, and worth a thousand looks!

  4. yartstik Says:

    hi Linda. I was pleasantly surprised seeing your comment in my humble blog. I appreciate your time and track your blog down so I could say just that. But I found something more..
    Your Art gives me inspiration to keep on painting with things that are close to one’s heart..
    Happy Painting & Happy New Year!

  5. Cole Says:

    I’m so late commenting, but I love this piece!


Leave a Reply

