Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

December 14, 2010 December 14, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:24 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Today is my 19th wedding anniversary and Ken and I are going to plan our day. The weather is frigid and the wind is gusting…hmm dinner by a fire maybe? We’ll see.

Recently Leslie and Stephen have both posted paintings about Sentinels that offer a view of nature’s sentinels. I have always seen trees – usually large, old ones – and associated them with human strength and fortitude, kind of the best of human characteristics. I have done two works over the last few years called The Sentinel so I thought I would share them.

The Sentinel 12" X 16" Transparent Watercolor 140# Arches

 

This painting was done in 2007 shortly after I started painting. It is a sycamore that stands at the bottom of the sledding hill at Ft Benjamin Harrison State Park in Indianapolis. It has always struck me as a tree that is watchful and protective. This is my third attempt to paint the tree in order to capture its strength and grandeur. You don’t want to see the others!

The Sentinel #2 15" X 22" Watercolor and Charcoal on Rive Paper

 

Sentinel #2 is a work I started in a workshop given by Peggy Brown in 2008. We soaked Rive Printmaking paper in water and then shaved vine charcoal onto the wet paper. When you let the paper dry, the charcoal acts like watercolor and doesn’t rub off the paper. You then look at your gray design and decide what to do next. I drew what I hoped was a strong, bold tree limb from an ancient tree. I wanted to communicate a feeling of history, strength and watchfulness. After I rapidly drew the limb using charcoal, I used watercolor to add interest and texture.

 

 

 

10 Responses to “December 14, 2010”

  1. Beth Parker Says:

    Happy Anniversary, Linda!! 19 years is a wonderful achievement! I love both of these paintings. The top one really appeals to me. The colors are so serene and peaceful! The shadows are amazing, too. Beautiful!

  2. allicette Says:

    I love The Sentinel #2. I actually shoot a lot of trees (I I am first a photographer). I love how if you look at them differently they can appear to be rivers and roads. Very well done.

  3. Happy Anniversary and Congrats on 19 years!
    Beautiful paintings!

  4. Happy Anniversary, Linda! Soaking paper and shredding charcoal over it sounds like fun 🙂 Love the results, too!

  5. Carol King Says:

    Congratulations on your 19 years of marriage! A considerable achievement.

    As I started to read your post I thought, “what’s up with everyone painting “sentinels”, but then I saw you referenced Leslie and Stephen. Senteinal #1 is calm and stoic. Sentinel # 2 is quite dynamic. I liked hearing about how yu used the shaved vine charcoal on the wet paper.

  6. lesliepaints Says:

    Wow! These trees do reflect strength! I like them both a lot! The second one really talks, Linda. Do you have more old works in hiding?
    Congratulations on 19 years of marriage!

  7. I am intrigued by your technique. And the artwork is powerful. Great perspective.


Leave a Reply

