Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

December 10, 2010 December 12, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:27 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Last Wednesday night Ken and I attended the Holiday Celebration held by the Southside Art League of Indianapolis (SALI). Great food, absolutely wonderful and frequently hilarious conversation and an artist art swap. We were all supposed to bring a 5″ X 7″ unframed piece of art. Each artist selected a wrapped artwork and I was very pleased with the artwork I selected. It is titled Three Red Tulips and is an 8″ X 10″ oil painting by Stanley Austin. Stan said this is the only floral he has ever painted so I was surprised it found its way to me. I hope you enjoy his beautiful painting as much as I have. I think I may try it in watercolor – simple, soft and cropped close. Thank you, Stan!

Three Red Tulips by Stanley L Austin

 

8 Responses to “December 10, 2010”

  1. that’s a beauty Linda – the reds pop and i can almost smell spring in them. way cool. sounds like you had a great time and came away with a great reward – sounds like aloha to me.

  2. Carol King Says:

    what fun! And you got a winner. What a beautiful oil painting and as I was reading your post I was thinking….do this in watercolor!

  3. This painting has me thinking! Lovely.

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    What a gift! I thought it was a photograph when I first glanced at it. Gorgeous reds!


Leave a Reply

