Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 28, 2010 November 29, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:48 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Whooppee! Just finished my first ever holiday painting. I was asked if I wanted to show a painting at the Holiday Reception for one of my volunteer organizations but the theme was The Holidays and the work was to have a holiday theme. I did not have a painting like this so I did what I do – I procrastinated! Well the Reception is this Wednesday so I thought I had better get busy if I was going to participate. Anyway I love the sparkle and glow from our tree at Christmas. I get up early, turn on the lights and just sit with Christmas music playing very low in the back ground. I am filled with a sense of peace. Here is my painting. I am happy with the way it turned out but was sure it was lost at several points in the process. I may procrastinate but I also PERSEVERE!

Christmas Memories

 

 

19 Responses to “November 28, 2010”

  1. aloha and seasonal greetings in fun, Linda – this is way fun, catching the spirit and flavor of Christmas Tree. the entire work holds together as one and very much “your” Christmas Tree – yet allows me to drift off into my own memories. way cool.

    • Mahalo Rick! Christmas is my favorite holiday and is loaded with memories. I think I may try another holiday piece. I don’t know how it will turn out but maybe I will get enough holiday paintings to do a set of cards???!!! That would be fun.

  2. Artswebshow Says:

    I like this artwork.
    Bright and cheery, yet rich and deep at the same time.
    Perfect for a festive piece.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I really, really like this painting of yours, Linda. The darks are so rich and the evidence of cross contour strokes in each of your ornaments make me want to reach out and touch them. It glows!!!! 🙂

    • Thank you Leslie! At Christmastime my favorite time of day is evening when I can turn off the lights and light the tree. That’s what I wanted to capture here. The glow and sense of peace I feel – kind of lit up from inside.

  4. Carol King Says:

    A fantastic holiday piece! I love the cheery colors and the darks are so rich like Leslie said. I also like that you incorporated your “geometric” circle shapes into the shapes of the ornaments.

  5. Sorry Linda that I haven’t visited for awhile, but I’ve been crazy busy. This is so cool and rich in colors. It would make a beautiful Christmas card. Merry Christmas and happy painting during the Holidays!

  6. Looks great Linda, I can see why you’re happy with it, I would be too! Hope your event goes well. Made me feel festive for the first time.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Keith. The event was very festive and everyone really liked my painting – it set the mood, along with the music and wonderful food.

  7. francis Says:

    Its the season, those bright colors and the tree foliage match nicely. Nice painting there Linda.

  8. Great painting It looks like it could be made into a Christmas card.

  9. Beth Parker Says:

    Oh Linda, I haven’t been to your blog in so long! You are doing so much amazing art!!! This Christmas tree painting is wonderful!! It’s so warm and inviting!!!! 🙂

  10. artistwife Says:

    This is such a fun painting. You’ve really captured the “feeling” of the season!

  11. Linda, you should be justifiably proud of this. it’s really wonderful! stunning.

  12. Chris Carter Says:

    I’m glad you stuck with it. The final result is stunning.


Leave a Reply

