Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 20, 2010 November 20, 2010

Filed under: Abstract,Collage,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:53 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

When I learn something new I have to apply it to really understand and use the knowledge at an intuitive level. I want to continue to work with the ideas I learned when working with my black, white and gray collages and paintings. I decided to work on a collage but I want to add some interest by introducing a bit of color. I love blue so I painted a sheet of 9″ X 12″ bristol board with big daps of Winsor Blue, Prussian Blue, Thalo Blue and Cobalt Blue.

BG&W Collage 11182010 - Step 1

I started playing around with the torn shapes I had from the last time I worked with my gray scale papers. I decided to stay with primarily white, black and mid-gray and I also decided that I needed a large “blocking” shape because the background was so active that it didn’t fit well with the very flat gray scale papers. The background had to be a small accent element not a major element. It is fun to play around with shapes. It is like doing a jigsaw puzzle with no “right answer”. The gray scale papers are so flat and cold feeling that I have to work with torn edges to give softness and interest and I like to have some of the edges touch or overlap to add warmth – like the touch of a hand. Anyway after trial and error my final collage turned out A-OK. It’s not really cockeyed. That’s my photography!

BG&W Collage 11192010 - Final

 

8 Responses to “November 20, 2010”

  1. in many ways this feels like a landscape. i like the relationships you’ve brought out with the placements of shapes – particularly the positive/negative interaction on the mid-upper left-hand side that you get between the background and the small torn-out area of the white paper. that is a very powerful area which you’ve balanced with other positive/negative areas in the over all composition. cool.

  2. judy Says:

    Oh! That picture just made me smile! How pleasing and interesting and balanced it is. I love that, Linda!

  3. Carol King Says:

    I love that you try so many different things Linda. Your collage is great. I find collage to be difficult sometimes, yet you always manage to produce such interesting ones.

    • Thank you Carol! The challenge is working with the gray scale papers but since I’m using them to develop my understanding of how to create a good composition they are a great tool. PS AND I get to putter as I do it…

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    Well. I see a baby grand piano in the foreground and a spotlight in the upper right corner…..I guess that is an indoor landscape, right? 🙂 I like seeing your collages.


Leave a Reply

