Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 16, 2010 November 17, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:42 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One more story about my art.

Hope for Haiti

The images were everywhere and you couldn’t escape knowledge of the devastation in Haiti but in tragedy is change and rebirth.  I was inspired to try to communicate my hopes for mankind through the painting of two watercolors on January 22nd and 23rd, 2010. Through the circles, spheres, bubbles I hope to symbolize the circle of life, a feeling of universalness and a sense of hope and even fun. Through the colors I want to include the traditional description of the various skin tones of mankind in a diverse and beautiful way. Through the composition I want to say that, while we are different, we are the same and that we stand together. On January 22, 2010 I wrote the words below which came straight from my heart.

Hope for Haiti - Red, Yellow, Blue

 

From red, yellow and blue all colors are created,

From brown, black, red, yellow and white the human race is made,

From Yahweh, Buddha, Krishna, Mohammed and Jesus our spirits are refreshed,

We, man, woman, child stand together,

We are one…

Hope for Haiti - Colors of Man

 

 

3 Responses to “November 16, 2010”

  1. Carol King Says:

    Wonderful post, wonderful words Your bubbles are fantastic. I love the shadows in the shadows (?) under the bubbles in the first one. I guess I mean the variations in the shadows.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    I remember these. They are beautiful.

  3. Chelsea Says:

    Absolutely beautiful, very powerful words


Leave a Reply

