Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 14, 2010 November 15, 2010

On November 11th I posted a discussion of my Geometry paintings. Keith followed up with a question about how I developed the design so I looked through some of my sketchbooks to see what I could find to do a show-and-tell. First of all it begins when I decide which shape – circle, square or triangle – I want to work with. Then I begin to doodle and sketch ideas.

Working sketches for a Triangle based painting

I usually sit watching TV and doodle as I watch. You can see how really terrible some of the ideas for the triangle were but I don’t censor myself. I even tried combining a triangle with other shapes. I just keep working at this process until I find something that seems close to what I want. I then do a more refined drawing – still small and not ruler perfect but close to the real thing.

Working sketches for Circle and Triangle paintings

This page from my sketchbook actually shows two things. First it includes my to scale planning drawing for my circle painting. It is colored with colored pencils so I can work out the best color plan and you can see two prismatic color approaches below the completed drawing. It also shows my “getting close to being final” design for the triangle painting. I have started to think about a larger set of paintings but I still need to do an 8″ X 10″ triangle to complete my set of 8X10’s. Better get to it!

 

2 Responses to “November 14, 2010”

  1. kimzoph Says:

    Nice post, Linda. I love to see artists’ sketchbooks as part of the creative process. Your work is lovely.

  2. Thank you Kim! I also enjoy seeing pages from artist’s sketchbooks. One of the most interesting is an artist that uses the last page in a sketch to journal about life at that date with drawings, etc. I have thought about closing or opening a sketchbook with a self portrait (a real challenge!)


Leave a Reply

