Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 7, 2010 November 8, 2010

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:27 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have been having such fun working on my first color splish-splash painting. I was very happy with the last of my little black and white paintings. I feel like I learned a lot about values and creating dramatic paintings without color. I probably also learned, at least subconsciously, about composition. Now that I have a little more time and can relax, I decided to try the same concepts but in COLOR! You may remember that these paintings started with the challenge to paint without using a brush and I continued to work with that concept using a brush as little as possible. In truth the entire first step of this painting was done with a brush because my original intent was to paint an underpainting to support a piece of collage art.

SS Color Painting - Step 1 (7" X 10" 140# Arches CP Paper)

But I could not get inspired. The washes of Alizarin Crimson stippled with Indian Red just didn’t motivate me when combined with my gray scale papers, so, after setting it aside for two weeks, I decided to move in a different direction. If you remember when I do brushless painting I use eye droppers, spray bottles, palette knifes, rags, fingers, salts, toothpicks – literally anything to create movement or texture. Even the sprayer at the kitchen sink! At this point I originally thought I was finshed …but hmmmm…not enough drama, not enough contrast, and I don’t like the way the green corner looks…

SS Color - Step 2

OK, here I go – fiddle, diddle, pour, push – is it better? I think I’m finished! Now I will set this painting up somewhere and “live with it” for a few days to see if anything else bothers me.

SS Color - Step 3

I jumped right in and started a larger painting (12″ X 16″) because I was interested to learn how hard it would be to scale-up using things like eye droppers. More tomorrow…

 

9 Responses to “November 7, 2010”

  1. Carol King Says:

    wow! You certainly managed to create movement and texture in this painting. Reminds me of crashing waves. Can’t wait to see what else you’re going to post using this method.

    • Thank you Carol. I agree with you. When I do these I always seem to come back to two “visions” – crashing waves and photos of outer space. When I start and as I progress I am not trying to paint any specific thing. I am just laying down color and shape and working of interesting value patterns.

  2. Wow these are so dramatic and full of movement. I might have to give this a try myself… Thanks for the motivation!

    • Thanks Ryan! I can say one thing – this is really fun to do. I go in with no ideas or expectations and I just keep layering until I get something I like. The key is to stop playing occasionally and let the paper dry really thoroughly and have a good supply of white gouache.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    Very exploratory. Very colorful and very creative, Linda. It is fun watching what you come up with using this method of painting.

  4. this is a great process you are playing with. it’s producing some terrific work. i agree with you on your solution regarding the green corner, the next version is stunning. beautiful. way cool.

  5. You’ve created beautiful colour contrasts here Linda and I really enjoyed reading through your blog. Very creative and effective.


Leave a Reply

