Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 23, 2010 October 23, 2010

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:12 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I  have been working on a third gray, black and white study. These paintings are small (roughly 5″ X  7″) and are on 140 # Arches. This one I played with and played with. After the first wash I did not use a brush again and I applied 6 or 7 layers of paint. I learned that after the 4th or 5th layering you have washed away the sizing from the paper and it is much harder to achieve interesting effects. I also learned that when you are not using color all of your paintings can begin to look alike. I thought I was done painting this little study and it was nice but I decided I could make it more exciting. So I finished by painting another layer with a toothpick and was able to get the spiky flashes. Anyway I am finished with this. I hope you enjoy it! This image is scanned so it looks slightly different from the photos.

Study #3 in Gray, Black and White

 

9 Responses to “October 23, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    These paintings are very full of energy and I find them most interesting to look at, Linda. Wonder what a large piece of paper, a large brush and the same process would do? I imagine the impact would be breathtaking! I like these. 🙂

  2. Francis Says:

    Ya, i agree with Leslie. I think a larger piece would look amazing. Nice work there Linda.

  3. Carol King Says:

    I think this is a wonderfully vibrant piece. I love the black and white. It’s very “moody”.

  4. gregorbucik Says:

    nice piece!! when i saw it i remembered a technique i used when i was a small kid, me and my mom used to wet a sheet of paper, color it with watercolors and than drop small pieces of salt (normal salt for cooking) on the paper, than we left it to dry out, removed the salt and saw the results. I was always amazed how the tiny pieces of salt sucked so much water and color and i admired the light shapes on the paper.. maybe you can try this technique someday 🙂 it’s easy and fun!

    • Actually I use this technique to create texture. I know it was used on some of the black & white paintings but I am not sure it was used here. Thank you for your comment. It is fun to share this type of information with other artists.

  5. Shauna Leva Says:

    This painting has some really interesting forms. I love the depth and the sense of movement. The forms feel alive.


Leave a Reply

