Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 21, 2010 October 22, 2010

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:37 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I am still working on my forest painting but I did finish a second study in gray, black and white. I find that these studies free my mind and I immerse myself in them. Unfortunately I have not started pulling together my November/December Show and that has to start today! Here is study in g,b &w step 1:

Study 2 in Gray, Black and White - Step 1

Step 1 is the only step that included use of a brush. I washed the paper with clear water and then painted in splotches of Payne’s Gray, Neutral Tint and Charcoal Gray achieving a variety of intensities in order to create an underpainting. While the paper was still very wet I dropped in liquid white watercolor and let it mingle without my assistance.

Study 2 in Gray, Black and White - Step 2

I let the paper dry thoroughly and then sprayed the paper with clear water. I dropped in black liquid watercolor, payne’s gray and neutral tint and tilted the paper to form a pattern. I repeated this one more time to build up more texture and color. Here is where I begin to debate with myself. Am I done? I decided no.

Study 2 in Gray, Black and White - Step 3

I decided that the study could be more dynamic and exciting so I tilted the paper and sprayed across it dropping white and payne’s gray watercolor across in a diagonal. I then used a tooth pick to pull out the spiky points. Throughout the painting process I used my finger and paper towels to blot and smudge the paint as it developed. Is the study done now? Who knows? I decided yes.

 

5 Responses to “October 21, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Beautiful. Energy, movement and impact! Good one,Linda!

  2. Wow would I loved to seen you do this, I keep thinking I’m going to teach painting until I see you and Leslie’s painting and technics. I question my abilities at that point!
    Amazing results!

    • Thank you Ryan but you are too hard on yourself. Your work is GREAT!!!! I am a natural teacher from a family of natural teachers and I have thought about teaching art but then I lose my confidence and decide that I am not ready…maybe I am just not ready to enforce the level of discipline that teaching requires?!!

      • lesliepaints Says:

        I hope it’s OK if I butt in here. I think you would be a fantastic teacher, Ryan. I would learn to do some of the things I have seen you do in your paintings. You sell yourself short. The best teachers are those who are inspired and that is YOU!


Leave a Reply

