Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

September 7, 2010 September 8, 2010

Filed under: Collage,Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:53 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I am growing in appreciation for art in B&W…in all its forms. Photographs like those of Ansel Adams amaze with their texture and depth, drawings by the Renaissance artists are full of movement and power and abstracts stimulate our little gray cells. I completed another abstract collage and have one more in process.

Collage Exercise 09072010

This one fell into place easily.  I tore the first piece of paper smaller than I wanted so I started playing around with the “left over” shapes and I fell in love with the powerful black shape you see here. Focusing on balance, repetition and line I completed this piece without a lot of struggle. (Maybe I should have struggled more????!!) It was fun and my husband said “I think you’re getting it!”  This is fun and I think it will improve my paintings, even if it is all in my subconcious.

 

2 Responses to “September 7, 2010”

  1. Barry Coombs Says:

    I’ve been enjoying your collage exercises. This one is my favorite. You’ve created a real tension between the flat surface and the subtle space. The four values are all it needs.

  2. Thank you Barry! These have been really fun to do and I have learned to be more thoughtful about values as I paint.


Leave a Reply

