Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

August 29, 2010 August 29, 2010

Filed under: Acrylics,Collage,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:16 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Did you ever do a painting or exercise that looked perfect the first time but you just couldn’t believe it? This happened to me yesterday.  I was working on my second collage in order to exercise the new insights I gained from reading the book by Edward Betts. I used the left over acrylics from the day before to paint a textured background on Bristol Board. Then I used my torn gray scale papers to layout my first attempt at a composition.  HMMM, this looks pretty good. But I can improve it, right? I don’t know this looks pretty good… Well to make a long story short, I could not improve it and I could not recreate it! Of course!  After several hours over 2 or 3 working sessions I created a new composition. It is fine and I do like it but boy was I frustrated that I could not recreate my original work.

Collage Exercise 08282010

I like the simplicity and cleanness of this design. I am doing these exercises on Bristol Board because I don’t like working on it and I am trying to use up the stock that I have. Have a lovely late summer day!

 

4 Responses to “August 29, 2010”

  1. Carol King Says:

    sometimes you DO get it right the first time! I guess that’s a lesson we all need to learn.

    I so like this collage very much. It has a nice balance of shapes and colors.

  2. Naomi Says:

    I’m not a fan of collage – at least, mixed media collages with all sorts of things mixed up together. These, though, are just delightful! The colors, shapes, composition. You are making me reconsider collage altogether!

    • Hi Naomi, I think Collage is fun to work with. My struggle with the pieces is to make them interesting with little or no color. This is really hard for me since I love color! PS I gave my first Asian Ink and Brush Tour at the Indiana[polis Museum of Art. This was really fun! I wondered if you know of a good basic art history of Ink and Brush painting. I have The Three Perfections but the scope is too narrow to cover everything I need. Thanks for any help you can give me. Linda


Leave a comment