Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

August 7, 2010 August 9, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:38 am
Tags: , , , , ,

For two weeks I have spent time cleaning and reorganizing my studio. It is tiring work. I have four large bookcases in my studio and needed to get rid of some books to make way for other things. My reason – I needed to find a home for my Sumi-e materials. Everything else had a home but my new set up is better for my paper storage as well. I think I am finally about done!

Last night I realized that I really had not created any artwork, except for the important pieces I did with my grandsons, for a few weeks. Last night I sat on the couch while watching the Hall of Fame Bowl and just doodled. It was like stretching my art muscles! My first doodle was done while thinking about connections and networks.

Network Doodle

My second was done while thinking about faces and creating faces from geometric shapes and building up color while still maintaining vibrancy. This is not any one I know or anyone I saw. Just drawing from basic shapes of everyones features… It was fun and no pressure so I really enjoyed myself.

Face Doodle

 

12 Responses to “August 7, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    You amaze me when you just sit and make up any old face. I like what you did with this one as you built up the color.

    • Thanks Leslie. The first type of art I was really good at was drawing. In middle school I started drawing portraits and they turned out really well. Maybe that’s where I should focus th9is year and forget about landscapes!!!???

  2. Naomi Says:

    Nothing like a clean studio for a clearing of the mind!

  3. Love it! This reminds of Picasso cubism. Very interesting, I like the way it moves away from the traditional. It’s brave to attempt such a move and I really like the results. I’d love to see more of your work in this style.

  4. Stephen Says:

    I like the face Linda – are you going to give us a self-portrait in the same style when we show our work – heh heh – No Pressure – (o:

    This pencil work holds potential in your hands

  5. Beth Parker Says:

    I love your geometric man! I can’t do portraits and maybe some study like this would help me. I really do like this! I like all the colors you used, too!

    I was watching a television show (Criminal Minds) last night that said we subconsciously choose our mates by the pleasing attributes of the geometrical shape of their faces. I know they make a lot of that stuff up for TV, but it does make you stop and think. 🙂

  6. CarolKing Says:

    your doodles are doodleicious!

  7. Heather Says:

    I love your doodle!!!! I would love to frame it or even post it on my locker at work. I have magnetic frames so that is a possability if you are willing to part w/ it.


Leave a Reply

