Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

August 2, 2010 August 3, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:20 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

We have two birthdays in the family this week. My middle daughter and my grandson stationed in Afghanistan both have birthdays on August 6th so my younger grandsons and I spent yesterday making cards for them. I got out my entire stash of creative materials and old cards and we spread things out everywhere…nothing was off limits. We each made a card for Alex and a card for Heather, who is also their MOM! We worked in two sessions because they get tired (and bored?!) so there were swimming breaks in between. Their Mom got her cards last night (a little early) and she was very pleased.

Heather's Birthday cards.

Ian's Card for Alex

Jakob's Card for Alex

I did collage and used a set of stamps for the printing but the boys free-handed it. Jakob used one of my stencils from a book of Celtic Symbols but otherwise they were very brave and chose to draw and color their own designs. They both wrote really sweet, affectionate, cool words for the message on the inside of their cards. Very nice activity and we will send Alex his cards in his next Care Package. Fun day! We have time for a few more before they go back to school on August 18th.

Linda's Card for Alex

 

4 Responses to “August 2, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Please tell Jakob and Ian that their drawings are wonderful. I’d like to take a swim in between artwork! They have the right idea! 🙂
    Your collaged cards are so interesting. Everytime I try to collage, I am not satisfied with my creations. These are soft and full of interesting shapes.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I put a hand on Alex’s card because on the inside it says Stay in Touch. I thought he would see the connection.

  2. Thank you Leslie!!! I was very pleased with the way they turned out. I really liked the sun! It was fun to do! I have been out of touch a bit. I thought about issuing a “Late Summer Self-Portrait Challenge” and we would post on Sept 21. Have you seen anyone step forward? I don’t want to step on anyones toes!

    • lesliepaints Says:

      You will not be stepping on anyone’s toes. Why don’t you offer that up as a challenge and set a challenge date to be submitted. I think it is a great idea and one that I had not even thought of. I would love to see everyone’s attempts at one! 🙂 Oh my! Now I’ll have to stare at my “mug” once again! LOL


Leave a Reply

