Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July 26, 2010 July 27, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Portraits & Self Portraits — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:21 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I really enjoyed seeing all of Leslie’s Self Portraits. I thought I had only done one in my lifetime but, while searching for the one I remembered I found another.

Self Portrait in Life Drawing Class

This a self-portrait I made during a life drawing class in the mid-1980’s. It is the only drawing in the sketches from class that was not a nude! The other drawing is a head and I have still not located it but I will keep on looking. I have several drawings of my hands. Maybe I will shot photos and add them. Hands are so expressive!

PS If nothing else, I got the big glasses right! Remember those?

 

7 Responses to “July 26, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    This is awesome, Linda! I love it that you said this was the only figure with her clothes on! I hope you can find your other self portraiture and create a page of them to share. I am going to try my image a couple times per year and add to it. I had glasses like that too. They were huge weren’t they? I remember having to readjust them all the time. They always! slid down my nose. Ha!

    • I had Lasix surgery about 15 years ago. I started wearing classes in grade school and was blind as a bat. To open my eyes and be able to see clearly each morning was life changing. To be able to swim and SEE was life changing. Now I wear cheap, cheater glasses to read but I am always glad I had the surgery!

  2. Stephen Says:

    Good stuff – you caught the intensity of the moment – there seems to be a self-portrait roll going on here – thanks Leslie – we should all do a latest one

  3. I think this may be the next challenge. Every one do a self portrait and submit it on a certain day.

  4. CarolKing Says:

    Thanks for posting this self portrait. I love it! And yes, I remember those big glasses. I had a pair too.

    Self Portrait Challenge????? Yay, Sounds like fun. I’m in if it gets going.

  5. Keith Palmer Says:

    This drawing really made me smile. I love your line work, there’s something very special about the way you use a pencil. I’ve always loved life drawing right back to Art College. I know how difficult it is, and how confident you need to be to make those bold strokes. Lovely, lovely work.


Leave a Reply

