Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July 12, 2010 July 13, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:19 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have been playing around with my last watercolor sketch from our trip to Madison. I need to learn when to stop. I overworked this little guy and lost some of the luminous look but I think you will get the feeling. This merman is one of four that decorates the lower level of a large bronze fountain on Broadway in Madison. It is a duplicate of one that is in Savannah, GA and is one of four in the world. It was originally in cast iron but was recast in bronze during the late 1900’s. I did not have time to try my hand at the entire fountain but did give one of the mermen a shot. Here he is:

Foutain on Broadway

 

8 Responses to “July 12, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    I like your merman. He has character and the color enhances the feeling of summer and light. I like viewing yours and Ryan’s paintings from your vacation getaways. 🙂

  2. CarolKing Says:

    What a cool fountain! And a cool painting of a fountain. 🙂

  3. I’ve been painting for a long time and I still don’t know when to stop easily. I have to yell at myself to stop put down the brush and walk away. I then come back to it and screw it up. lol

  4. Barry Coombs Says:

    It doesn’t look overworked to me. It might just be the reproduction but I think you could get away with deepening the blue shadows even a bit more. I agree that it feels summery and sunny.

  5. Beth Says:

    I really like the colors you chose for this piece. The piece has a very light, summery, and refreshing. 🙂

    I agree with Barry Coombs–you could deepen the blue shadows more.


Leave a Reply

