Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July 10, 2010 July 11, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:37 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

We just returned from a long weekend in the historic town of Madison, IN. Madison has over 100 square blocks full of historic buildings. It is the largest area of historic homes in the state of Indiana. We took a long weekend and visited two wineries and three historic homes. The Lanier Mansion is incredible both from the perspective of the original innovative design created by Francis Costigan in 1844 and from the quality of the latest restoration which was completed 15 years ago. The home is now owned by the State of Indiana and we had a wonderful guide. I did two little watercolor sketches – the first en plein air – and I am almost finished with a third.

The first I did from the balcony of our hotel. The view looks straight down the main street of the town. The right hand side has a large power plant in the background so I painted the left. The mornings are, of course, misty and dense with humidity which gives everything a pastel appearence.

Madison, Indiana

We visited the Lauthier and Thomas Family Wineries. I brought apples and tomatoes to snack on and I had one of each left. I had a great time trying to capture the look of the bottles. Other notes about Madison: great art town, incredible restaurants and Cocoa Safari (Chocolate Shop – all hand made) is absolutely fabulous. Madison is a lovely city to visit for a long, relaxing weekend and is close to Clifty Falls State Park which has four 60-80 foot (yet unpainted) waterfalls. Madison, we will be back!

Madison Still Life

 

8 Responses to “July 10, 2010”

  1. Heather Says:

    Ooo, I adore the first one. The color in it is gorgeous! The composition of the second is perfect.

    • Thank you Heather. My scan is not very good. The color is much better on the actual painting. Isn’t it frustrating? I am always trying to figure out how to get better photos or scans. I guess I need better equipment but that always sounds like a want not a need.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    What beautiful transparent watercolors, Linda. I like them both. When you just sit down and paint like this, I love the freshness your paintings have.

  3. artimagica Says:

    These are wonderful, Linda! The colors are fresh and pretty and there is a wonderful softness to them both. Can’t wait to see the third. Sounds like a great weekend. I hope you indulged in the chocolate!

  4. David Tripp Says:

    I absolutely love this still life. I’m curious about how you’re breaking up the surface with those lovely textures in the upper left background. Salt? Back runs? Or are you using a paper that naturally breaks up the pigments that way? I love this piece.

    • Hi David, I went back and looked at this so I could answer your question correctly. I think there are 2 things going on. First I painted this in a Deluxe “Bee” Brand sketchbook that I bought from Cheap Joe’s catalog. It is supposed to be heavy weight paper suitable for all media, including wet media. It is a pressed, not woven, paper and some of the texture in the painting comes from the surface of the paper. Secondly, when I travel I take a set of Pelikan Gouache paints rather than any of my travel watercolor sets. Why! I don’t know! It is a set of pan paints that are easy to use when I carry only one brush and I like the colors included in the set. The primary color used in the area you asked about is ultramarine blue. I think the granulation and texture of the paper surface created the effect. I am glad you asked!


Leave a Reply

