Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July 7, 2010 July 8, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:14 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Another beautiful hot and humid day in Indiana! It seems that my mind needs to loosen up after I do a realistic (even if Impressionistic) painting so yesterday I decided to play around a little. I let my mind roam as I worked on this piece. I recently bought 1/2″ and 1″ angled brushes and wanted to work with them. The first thing I did was to draw an abstract design by moving my brush around sort of like I do when working on sumi-e style exercises.

Playing Around 1

I was not able to maintain the tight control that I strive for when I am practicing Sumi-e strokes but remember – I’m just “playin’ around”!

I chose yellows, oranges and reds to “fill-in the lines”. Recently I bought Vermilion, a color in the Stephan Quiller line and I wanted to try it out, to get some experience with it. I painted shapes, overlapped shapes and sometimes overlapped shapes again. Good reinforcement about which colors are REALLY opaque!

Playing Around 2

I continued to reinforce some of the colors and then – mistake! – decided that the design might be too limited and to add some additional “stuff”. Stuff and nonsense was what it turned out to be so I decided to paint a nice dark, black surround to block out my additions. Anyway here is what I had at the end of my day of playing around.

Playing Around 3

 

9 Responses to “July 7, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    It’s a warm “V” for VICTORY or VERY GOOD!

    • I was able to experiment with the black area. I started with the Black Magic ink I used for step one and then went over it with a layer of lamp black watercolor and a layer of alizarin crimson to give a little life to it.

  2. CarolKing Says:

    I like the dark background to your playin’ around shapes. This ended up being a fun and succesfully exciting painting.

  3. devan Says:

    the picture with the dark background is awesome! love it

  4. Beth Parker Says:

    Oh WOW!! The black really did it, Linda! This is wonderful!!!!

  5. Stephen Says:

    Neat – My first thought was that I like the black best – but I like the white too. Maybe the black and white tell the same story from different perspectives and go together somehow – weavers have a name for what happens when you keep a design and change the background – I like your reds and yellows

  6. isaacfosty Says:

    I like the simple design or this piece, it’s very refreshing and has beautiful colors. The dark net makes it look like a piece of stained glass and black background pushes the colors up. I think it could have looked great as well with a special work on it regarding texture, maybe on thin black lines networking in response to the “stained glass” part but that’s just a suggestion for the next time you want to do something like this, maybe give a try to this =)


Leave a Reply

