Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

June 27, 2010 June 28, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:06 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

June 25th was my birthday so, to celebrate, Ken took me to the Eiteljorg Indian Market and Festival on Saturday. I have always wanted to go and it was a great event. They had 135 Native Indian artists and craftsmen, continual Native American entertainment (with an educational component) and cultural speakers. For years I have looked at the fetishes in the gift shop at the Eiteljorg. They are so beautiful and have powerful connotations and symbology. For a Native American they are part of their religion. For a collector they claim no religious significance.  Ken bought me a bear fetish and I love it.

Bear Fitish with Heartline

I feel like the power comes from me and the characteristics I take from it. It is made from Picasso Marble found only in Southwestern Utah, has an arrow shaped Prayer Bundle embellished with beads and feathers and an inlaid turquoise heart-line. The bundle beads and feathers are intended to nourish the fetish. The fetish was carved by contemporary stone carver Joseph Begay. I wanted to share my feelings about this little item with you so I painted an ATC.

Bear Fetish

I did this ATC with watercolor pencil and put on a final layer of watercolor paint.

The Bear fetish is the guardian of the West and has the power to heal and transform human passions into true wisdom. Bear is invaluable whenever you are faced with change and transition by reminding us that by turning to solitude and introspection we unleash the power we all have within. Through this power we gain wisdom.

 

12 Responses to “June 27, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    The bear fetish is what we ALL need , then, judging from all the change going on around us. Beautiful fetish and painting, Linda, and Happy Birthday!

    • Thank you Leslie. I like holding and seeing the fetish because it reminds me of the meaning. Same reason I have a Gwan Yin (live with compassion) and two buddhas (live mindfully). I am always needing reminding!

  2. Francis Says:

    Somehow it reminds me of the animated movie Brother Bear. The token of the little bear which transform the boy into a bear whom later learn to use love as strength. Very nice movie and musical too. Nice ATC painting of the bear, very symbolic. Happy Birthday Linda.

  3. Naomi Says:

    Happy Birthday!!

  4. CarolKing Says:

    I have never heard of a fetish before (other than the, um, you know, kind) so I was interested to hear about the bear fetish. I like your painting of it and hope it works for you. And if it does, can you get one for me? 🙂

  5. artimagica Says:

    Happy Birthday Linda! I think your fetish is beautiful and I loved hearing about its symbolism. The ATC is great too. Glad you had a lovely birthday.

  6. livelaughlovehopeeat Says:

    Happy Birthday! Thanks so much for posting on my blog… that was very sweet! I absolutely love your paintings!! Very inspiring…

  7. Beth Parker Says:

    Oooo, your Bear fetish is beautiful, Linda! I did an art quilt of the bear fetish once, a million years ago. 🙂


Leave a Reply

