Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

June 24, 2010 June 25, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:32 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Color! Color! Color! You know how I am always talking about color? I decided to take a couple of my older paintings and to repaint them. To start I chose a painting that I did in late 2008. It is a painting of castle ruins in the Scottish Highlands that has always looked dull to me – all muted browns and grays with almost no color. Well in response I think I binged on color! I spent the last two days trying to tone down the color without ruining the painting. Not quite sure if I’m done tinkering even now.

Stormin' the Ruins

 

9 Responses to “June 24, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    I have done this……Isn’t it fun! Have your ears been burning, Linda? because I have been thinking about two I want to work on.
    This castle is wonderful. I don’t think the color is too strong! I think sometimes, me included, we give too much definition to what it is that we are painting and when it doesn’t come out like we foresaw, we are ready to call it a failure. This is a beautiful vision and I like this painting. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. artimagica Says:

    The colors are gorgeous. It looks magical like something out of a fairytale. Beautiful!

  3. This is an amazing painting. I love the use of color. I love the painting!

  4. It’s great!

    And the good thing about old failed paintings is that you don’t worry about messing up anymore…You can just experiment and be wild!

    Definitely doesn’t look dull ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. CarolKing Says:

    Love your color, color, color! The blues and greens are exciting with the splash of red/purple on top. I would love to visit this castle.

  6. thanks for the idea, linda. i have a LOT of candidates to rescue : }

  7. scrappedout Says:

    this is dreamy and beautiful! Thanks for your kind comments on my little bird post!

  8. napabelle Says:

    This is fabulous! What a bold idea! Go girl !! ๐Ÿ™‚ The result is tunning. These colors are fresh, calming, dreamy. I love it !

  9. nannysroom Says:

    This is gorgeous! I have a painting on the wall that I have been thinking about redoing. I have said I wouldn’t change it because it shows me how I’ve changed over time. Maybe one day i’ll brave it and pull it down~


Leave a Reply

