Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

June 22, 2010 June 23, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 9:08 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

My oldest Grandson is getting married in early August and my youngest daughter is hosting a shower for his future bride in July. She has been watching my blog and asked me if I would decorate some gift bags with a plum blossom sumi-e.

Gift Bag 1

I just finished three gift bags as a trial run. I did not use true sumi-e because I am afraid that the gift bags will not absorb the ink or watercolor like they should. For these I used markers – sharpies and others.

Gift Bag 2

Gift Bag 3

For these bags I used snippets of the design on the napkins, paper plates and hand towels I found. They are cherry blossom rather than plum but I don’t think this will matter. From here on out I am freehanding it and I may also try some done in black and gray like an ink painting. Hope she likes them.

 

7 Responses to “June 22, 2010”

  1. Heather Says:

    Love them ALL!!!

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    What a wonderful idea and each bag an individual piece of art!

  3. whimsyway Says:

    Very pretty! What a lovely idea.

  4. Beth Parker Says:

    Awwww, what a thoughtful thing for you to do! They are really beautiful, Linda!


Leave a Reply

