Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

June 21, 2010 June 21, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 2:46 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

It is time to post my response to Richard McNaughton’s Summer Challenge. The subject is lighthouses and the one I painted is pretty unusual – in my limited experience anyway. Not many lighthouses in Indiana! This lighthouse is in Grand Haven, Michigan. This city has a long pier lined with lights and it has two lighthouses – a short one at the end of the pier and a tall, “middle” lighthouse in the middle of the pier. I hope you enjoy!

Grand Haven, Michigan Lighthouse

Richard, thank you for issuing the summer challenge!

 

20 Responses to “June 21, 2010”

  1. Beth Parker Says:

    Oooo, I really love this painting, Linda! The watercolory feel and the colors are just delicious!!! By the way, there’s not many lighthouses in Oklahoma either. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    This is great, Linda! I like how you rendered the waves crashing on the pier! The stormy sky is beautiful and it gives the feel of the lake when it is really roiled up. Nice perspective. too. Bravo!

  3. Loved the feel of the waves crashing on to the breakwater. I have enjoyed everyone’s paintings thank you

  4. CarolKing Says:

    ooooh, this is beautiful. Love the surf and the angry sky. Very exciting feel to this wonderful piece.

  5. Noel Garner Says:

    Lighthouses and tower windmills are very similar, and apparently simple shapes, but actually quite hard to get the proportions right. Well, done.

  6. absurdoldbird Says:

    Lovely colour and contrast between the lighthouse and the rest. I especially like the waves!

  7. Hearts Arts Says:

    Linda,

    This is a lovely image and you really captured the beauty that is Michigan! Really terrific and I’ve enjoyed reading your older blog posts ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mary Jo

  8. Hi Linda – this is wonderful, and really so structured and powerful, yet full of life at the same time! I love it and I am so glad you stopped by my blog so that I could discover your work! Thank you, very nice to meet you & I am definitely adding you to my blogroll! (:

  9. Francis Says:

    Nice work on the lighthouse, i just love the wave crashing, the dark rain clouds hanging behind it and the bright red. The color is really fluid and lots of movement. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Stephen Says:

    Hey Linda this is such a cool painting – I love the sea and the sky with the lighthouse standing tall and strong – neat!

  11. kristinamanda Says:

    It’s paintings like these that make me want to learn faster! Thanks for the advice, really encouraging for a very unsure beginner like myself ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

