Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

June 14, 2010 June 14, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:34 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I love to walk at Ft Benjamin Harrison State Park, belong to several nature and conservation organizations and love all parts of our natural environment – animals, flowers, trees, BIRDS. Recently I found a fascinating photo of the red cockaded woodpeckers that live in the long needle pine forests in the American South. They are black and brown but their markings make them quite beautiful and believe it or not they have only a tiny strip of red on the side of the head. I thought this might be a good project to try to work out with my trusty gray markers. The photo was my starting point but I heavily modified the composition and used my Birding Guide to understand anatomy and markings. The sketch became a drawing so I will probably not paint it. I really like the effects you can achieve with these markers.

Red Cockaded Woodpecker

 

9 Responses to “June 14, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Wonderful, Linda. You are getting quite good with those markers. Your experimental spirit is inspiring!

  2. what gray markers are those. i’m trying to find some fine point ones to get very subtle shading in the stipples that i do. love the way the two woodpeckers are looking at each other

  3. Beth Parker Says:

    I like this, Linda! It looks like they are having a conversation! 🙂

  4. artimagica Says:

    I think this is a beautiful piece and I like it just the way it is. I think the simple color scheme works wonderfully with the subject matter. Nice job!

  5. Barry Coombs Says:

    You handle those markers very nicely. I might be biased because I like the subject matter. My hobby is birding. I’ve only been to Florida once and didn’t see a Red-cockaded Woodpecker. Maybe, next time.

  6. napabelle Says:

    I was just watching a family of woodpeckers… yours are well done. It is not easy to do birds ! I like that you kept them monotones.


Leave a Reply

